Day 11: Jammers

Today’s cookie is kind of half cookie half pie, kind of. It is a signature cookie of Dorie Greenspan’s little pop up company Beurre and Sel. Every once in awhile in NYC, she and her son make a ton of cookies and sell them on a given day that is publicized mostly through social media. There are a few places in New York that carry the cookies regularly, such as Russ and Daughters.

Basically, a jammer is a butter cookie, topped with a dollop of jam and surrounded by buttery crumb topping. What’s not to like? It’s a fancier version of a thumbprint cookie, which my boys both love, so it was no surprise that they loved these cookies. I always make some kind of jam cookie during the holidays because, well, I make a lot of jam throughout the year.

IMG_7954

Plus, I always think they look festive with their jewel like centers. Now this recipe is the only cookie I have ever made that calls for using a muffin tin. The first pan I did worked great and they came out ok, but I really dislike cleaning and wanted to make it easier. So, I tried using muffin papers.

IMG_7948

They worked like a charm and gave the cookies a fun ruffly edge. These aren’t the best keepers because of the jam, but even a few days later, they are still good, just a little softer.

IMG_7950

Best of all, the dough and the crumb topping can be made aheqd and frozen. See, I already cut out a bunch of bottoms and stuck them in a container between layers of wax paper. They will wait in the freezer until I want to bake some more. Once the components are made and frozen, it just takes a few minutes to get the cookies ready to bake.

IMG_7949

I think you need to go bake some of these jammers. You can find the recipe here. This is a new favorite of ours. It is especially good with homemade sour cherry vanilla jam. Don’t they kinda look like mini pies?

IMG_7956

Tomorrow is the last day of cookies. Can you believe it? Be sure to leave a comment for a chance to win a tin of cookies. The tin is being filled up quickly.

What’s your favorite holiday movie? The husband and I always watch It’s a Wonderful Life on Christmas Eve. I also love The Sound of Music, though for the life of me I can’t figure out why that’s considered a holiday movie.

Posted on December 16, 2013, in Baking, Holiday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Great idea to use muffin papers! Cleaning muffin tins is such a pain. These cookies look really yummy – and I like the idea of freezing the cookie base until you are ready to bake them. You have some great time saving baking tips, Carie!

    I have to laugh about my favorite Christmas movies because I am at both ends of the spectrum with my choices. On the one end, I love the original Miracle on 34th Street. It makes me puddle up every time I watch it. And, on the other end, Christmas just isn’t Christmas without National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. Makes me crack up every time I watch it. 🙂

  2. Lets see. The one with the BB gun? I can never remember the name. Or Frost the snow man… or Elf is good as well. Those cookies look glorious.

  3. Wow – these look so yummy! I am definitely going to check out the recipe!

    My favorite holiday movie is Emmett Otter’s Jugband Christmas, but Elf is a close second…

  4. Ben-Hur is my favorite Christmas movie even if the kings arrive from hundreds of miles away on the same night as the shepherds. Oh, and it’s my favorite Easter movie, too!

  5. I love all the different cookies you have been making Carie! The snail cookie cutter is adorable! Can’t wait to try the butter cookie dough base. Happy baking!

  6. I do like the Sound of Music and the Grinch movie. Lately, I’ve been watching one on Lifetime where this women moves from NYC to Montana or somewhere and does a calendar of the local rescue guys. I’ve seen it three times since they’ve starting showing the holiday movies.

  7. Yum! Those look good! I love watching White Christmas – now my 5 yr old watches too and sings along! I agree with The Sound Of Music… why is that a holiday movie? I will watch it whenever it’s on though!

  8. Those look as delicious as everything else you’ve shown us. For me, the perfect holiday movie is “White Christmas” with all the singing and dancing, culminating in *S*N*O*W!

Tell me what you think!

