Day 12: Gingersnaps + TWD

It was great fun to read everyone’s comments yesterday about their favorite Christmas movies. I had forgotten some of them, such as A Christmas Story. There are so many hilarious and memorable scenes from that movie, especially the double dog dare scene, haha. And I, too, loved Emmet Otter’s Jugband Christmas when I was a kid, though I haven’t seen that in a long time. On a more recent note, I also loved that sappy movie with Hugh Grant, Love Actually and that other one with Jude Law, which I can’t remember the name of right now (something holiday?).

Anyway, I’d love to just sit down and watch all of these movies and knit for hours on end, especially with the miserable week that I have had that is continuing into this one. Remember that tooth trouble I was having? Well, it’s only gotten worse. I won’t go into all the details, but I will just say that a month long toothache during the holidays makes it difficult for a person to get into the holiday spirit. Still, I am grateful for having had the self imposed cookie making schedule and my kids who motivate me to get up and get things done so that their holiday doesn’t get ruined because of my misery.

IMG_7899

I have to say that I was skeptical about today’s cookie, gingersnaps from Baking with Julia. First of all, the ingredient amounts seemed miniscule, so right away I decided to quadruple the recipe. Then, the dough was really sticky, which didn’t concern me too much because I always roll out dough between wax paper or parchment. I tried both with this one and parchment seemed to work best.

IMG_7951

Once the dough was rolled, I froze it until it was firm and had no trouble cutting cute little star shapes. The trouble came with the molasses glaze. It didn’t sit on the dough well and when it baked, it was not pretty. I don’t know if it is just me, but glazing cookies before they are baked just does not work out for me.

IMG_7952

So, I threw the glaze away. I over baked the first pan because they didn’t look done after 7 minutes. I ended up baking them for about 12 minutes and they were very hard and crunchy.

IMG_7957

The second pan, without glaze, baked for exactly 7 minutes with my convection fan on and they were much better; not as hard, but still crunchy around the edges.

IMG_7961

After two pans of stars, I decided we had enough of those and started making shapes to go with our annual gingerbread house decorating party tomorrow. This year, I decided not to bake all the house pieces myself and bought the Ikea kits instead (horror!). What can I say? They are cheap and I decided I wanted to bake other things besides pan after pan of gingerbread. However, when I saw how firmly these gingersnaps bake up, I thought they would be good for trees and snowmen.

IMG_7962

Some of the cookies are a little thin because I was trying to get enough for six kids out of the rest of the dough, but that’s nothing a lot of extra frosting won’t take care of. As for how they taste, I don’t know since they are too hard for me to eat, but the boys liked them and the husband said they were good and then ate a whole handful. They must be pretty good, right? You can find this recipe here. I highly recommend at least doubling it. Otherwise, it would be kind of a lot of work for not many cookies.

And now, this suddenly brings us to the end of my Twelve Days of Christmas Cookies series. Crazy, right? Don’t forget to leave a comment for a last chance to win a tin of cookies. One comment per post per person in the United States will qualify as an entry into the contest. I will give you until 9pm tomorrow night, December 18, eastern standard time to comment and then I will pick a person at random to receive a tin of cookies. I hope to ship on Friday, so be sure to check back to see if you are the winner because I will need your address to mail it. Don’t post any addresses here, I will get in contact with you if you are the winner.

Of the twelve cookies I have featured this week, which would be your favorite(s)?

Posted on December 17, 2013, in Baking, Holiday, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. The Swedish ones, pepperkokars?

  2. Difficult decision to pick just one, but I guess Day 2 – the nibby pecan refrigerator cookie get my vote. Followed by a lot of others!

    Thanks for sharing your recipes as well as your time with us this busy holiday season, Carie!

  3. I think that Jude Law movie is called the Holiday or something similar. I watched parts of it a week or so ago. Hmm, which cookie is my favorite, probably the Chocolate Macarons. I’m in a chocolate craving mood lately. My mother would love the Swedish cookies.

  4. So sad we have come to the end of the cookie recipes! I’m pretty sure that my favorites would be the nibby pecan cookies (I’m still trying to track down some cocoa nibs locally), but I’m quite sure that the amaretti would come in a very close second.

    I hope your tooth pain is resolved soon and that you can truly enjoy the spirit of the holidays with your family!

  5. Sugar cookies!

  6. It has been fun following your recipes! Thanks for the inspiration! My faves are the Nibby Pecan cookies. I have already made then and they are sublime! I want to try that super butter cookie too!

  7. Nibbly Pecan cookies–I’ll sneak them out of the freezer where I’ve hidden them from myself.

  8. I wasn’t thrilled with this recipe. I think because they didn’t crisp up as I expected them too. Yours look great though. And I love that you made the trees and snowmen.

  9. Wow…you’ve been busy. I agree with you that the glaze didn’t really work. Your tree and snowman are pretty cute.

  10. Aww, your tree and snowman are so cute! I too liked the movie Love Actually. This recipe a disappointment for me. Looking to find a better one!

  11. Hope your tooth troubles are over! Love you idea to turn this cookie dough into decorations for your gingerbread house.

Tell me what you think!

