Fits and Starts

After finishing my stripey sweater last week, I was down to just 6 knitting works in progress. It’s been years since that happened. Usually, I hover around 10-12, sometimes 15. So, naturally, I felt the urge to cast on some more projects from my queue. But, I thought, I am on a bit of a roll with these wips, so maybe I should just carry on with them. I picked up my purple India Print Henley and worked on that for several days rather faithfully.

I was happily about 8 inches into the first sleeve when my ball of yarn that was supposed to last for the whole sleeve almost ran out. At the same time, I noticed that there was a patch of knitting that did not look quite right and I knew I would not be happy with that unless I ripped it out, which I did. Surprisingly, I managed to have the patience to knit the sleeve again until I got close to the end of the ball of yarn. Again.

IMG_8075

At this point, I did two things. First, I did the edge of the sleeve and bound it off. This sweater, I have decided, is meant to be a 3/4 sleeved sweater.

Secondly, I suddenly reached the end of my patience with every single knitting project in my pile and so I cast on two new sweaters, a shawl, and a hat.

One thing that really helped in this sudden fit of startitis is a new ball winder that I got last week. This ball winder is supposed to be able to handle large hanks of yarn; up to 10 ounces! Of course, I had to try it out.

IMG_8078

It’s a little loud, but sure does beat my old one at anything over 4 ounces. I seem to be buying a lot of really large hanks nowadays, so this will really come in handy. Plus, I think my old winder was wearing down after years of use. It had started getting the yarn in a tangle and, occasionally, flinging the yarn ball across the room. The new one makes really nice barrel shaped balls. Fun!

IMG_8070

As soon as this ball was wound up, I knit a gauge swatch. It’s Neighborhood Fiber Co. Studio worsted and it is super squishy. It’s destined to be Brandied Cherries.

IMG_8065

Maybe it is the super cold weather we’ve been having or maybe I have been knitting too many fingering weight sweaters recently, but I have the sudden need/desire for heavy cabled sweaters. I even dug out this old sweater project that had to be frogged and cast on anew.

IMG_8073

And for those days when only lace will do, a mystery shawl knit along is just the ticket.

IMG_8077

For instant gratification, I knit a hat. I started it on Saturday morning and finished it Sunday afternoon. It was really only a couple of hours of knitting all told. Gotta love worsted weight hats for that.

IMG_8058

Well, that’s the knitting news briefly from here. I will give more details about each individual project another time. It’s snowing and I have to go bake some bread.

Posted on January 21, 2014, in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Love all your knitting projects. I will have to save up for a new ball winder. My plastic one flings the yarn across the room occasionally also and freaks me out.

  2. It is nice to know that others get that “urge” to cast on new items even with WIPs. I’m trying to hold out until the sleeves are finished on a sweater and the second sock is finished, but I “slipped” the other day and cast on a new sock and knit a few rounds of ribbing. Your knitting projects are just lovely and in such rich colors!

  3. Love all the new projects! I’m very tempted by Brandied Cherries too! Happy bread baking!

  4. Love that ball winder! I got a swift for Christmas…now I need to fill in the blanks and get the winder. Your sweater choices are so inspiring!

  5. All that incredible knitting and time to bake bread too! Amazing!

Tell me what you think!

