Stretchy

This weekend I started a new sewing project. A very good friend of mine asked me to make a t-shirt quilt from the many shirts she collected during her college years. Now, I have never before sewn with t-shirt fabric, but I was willing to give it a try. I have to say, it was a little unnerving to cut up someone else’s clothes, but after the first few, I got the hang of it.

There was a lot of math involved to figure out how to get all the designs incorporated without having to make any extra cuts. After five hours of cutting and arranging, my brain was very tired, but I had everything cut and labeled.

IMG_8092

The material is very stretchy and that made it very difficult to get square and even cuts, but I am hoping with a half inch seam allowance and a zig-zag stitch, that any differences in block size will be eased in.

IMG_8103

My machine had a lot of trouble adjusting at first. The thread kept breaking and I had trouble finding the right tension to keep the stitches flowing along nicely. Thankfully, we have decided to back the blanket with fleece and tie it, so after I assemble the top, all the sewing will be done except for the binding. I think my machine will thank me for that. I will let you know how it turns out.

Posted on January 29, 2014, in Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. When I make my quilts I always use iron on fusing and fuse muslin to the back for stability. It’s an extra step but really helps keep the shape!

    • I thought about doing this, but worried that the seams would be too bulky then. Is there a special brand you use?

      • It’s been long enough I don’t recall, but I know I purchased it a joanns. The first quilt I used the one sided fusible web (very light and added almost no weight) but I tied the quilt with crochet thread and had a problem with tearing at the knots. Second time I used double sided fusible and muslin. Much stronger but also thicker. I didn’t notice the seams being overly bulky especially with batting in between.

  2. Stabilizing is a great idea. Also, when sewing knits, I use the slightest, slightest zig zag stitch. This ensures that the stitches stretch with the fabric rather than breaking.

  3. It looks so awesome! Can’t wait to be the proud owner of an orginal 🙂

  4. I also use a very lightweight iron-on interfacing, but skip the muslin. It makes a world of difference. The seams are no problem, since the interfacing that I use is almost tissue-weight.

Tell me what you think!

