Fuzzy

After countless broken threads and struggles with slippery, shifty, t-shirt material, I was able to finish the top for my friend’s t-shirt blanket. Thanks to all who left comments on how to deal with the material. I decided in the end to just deal with the thread breaking every foot or two instead of adding any interfacing. Most of this was just because I had already done a good portion of sewing and the thought of undoing and redoing was too much to bear. If I were to ever deal with t-shirts again, however believe me when I say I will be buying bolts of the stuff. My machine and I developed a funny dance of sewing, thread breaking, and re-threading. I can only hope that it will not revolt on me when I go back to my usual quilting cotton later on.

IMG_8135

Once I added the fleece backing, sewing went a lot smoother. Most of the tying was done during the Superbowl on Sunday night. Since my friend loves football, I thought it fitting to work on her blanket while the game was on. Good thing I was not too interested in the game because the blanket took all my attention. Everyone assures me that I did not really miss much and I was happy when the husband consented to let me watch Downton and Sherlock since that game was more or less done.

IMG_8136

Today, I finished the edges and, suddenly, I find myself done. Even with all the pauses for breaking thread, it took about 15 hours to put this blanket together, which must be a record for me. For all the trouble it gave me, it wasn’t a huge investment in time and gave me some opportunity to reflect on how special this friend is to us. In the end, I am pleased with the results. I hope she likes it.

IMG_8138

The blanket has the designs of more than 20 t-shirts and the finished size is roughly 75 inches square, big enough to snuggle under on the couch watching football. The fleece backing makes it nice and fuzzy and cozy and warm. Hopefully, it will bring lots of happy memories to her mind when she uses it. As for me, I think I will be pretty happy not to see another t-shirt in my sewing room for a very long time.

Posted on February 4, 2014, in Finished, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Well I’m crying! It is beautiful and everytime I use it I will think of how special you are to me. So grateful to God for such a wonderful loving Framily šŸ™‚

  2. Well done! It turned out wonderfully well!
    We had the same Superbowl/Downton/Sherlock dance at my house…Downton won out šŸ˜‰

Tell me what you think!

