It’s Coming

For many, this winter has seemed interminable and never ending. We have had more than the usual number of winter storms and some unusually cold days for our area. Many of my friends and acquaintances and even random people at the store have expressed some despair over this cold, wet winter we have been having. For me, this winter has been one of the most pleasant in recent memory. I always feel that cold weather without snow is a waste and I have not been disappointed in that respect this year.

DSC_0523

We’ve had multiple snowfalls and a couple of ice storms, which turn the world into some sort of glassy wonderland. If I am going to be stuck in the house because of the temperature, I like to be able to look at some beauty outside as well.

Despite all of this, I can sense that Spring is coming. The days are getting longer and the sun seems a tad more intense. I am thinking more about spring colors than deep, rich tones or grey shades.

IMG_8141

The other day, I made these cute little pin cushions using this tutorial (oops looks like their server is down. I will add the linky later). Isn’t this a fun little project to get into the mood of spring?

IMG_8140

In the process of making these, I used these little clover clips for the first time. Where have these been all my life? I love them! So much easier to use and lays flatter than pins. I think I need about a hundred more! Seriously, if you sew or knit, you need some of these. They come in different sizes and I plan to get them all.

IMG_8254

I’m also finished with my hoegaarden cowl, which goes with the hoegaarden mitts and hat that I made last year. Whoa.

IMG_8256

This is my first ever completed set of accessories that all match. Usually, I look a bit like that lady who can’t find matching sets of anything, so she goes out with five accessory items that all clash, but at least she is warm.

IMG_8261

Now, I will look like I have it all together, which I SO totally don’t, but that’s ok, because we all know that looks are deceiving, right?

IMG_8253

And now, it looks like I will have to cast on something new. And pink. Because spring, it’s coming.

Posted on February 28, 2014, in Finished, Knitting, Sewing, Stuff I Use and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Carie, you are totally right, those pincushions are the cutest thing ever and I love the ones you made for me! And the sewing/knitting clips are awesome for seaming sweaters or sewing laminate fabrics. Thank you!!

    I love cold and snow too! Hot weather, not so much. I am happy about the longer daytime hours though.

  2. That pink set is yummy,a nd I’m not even a pink person…thanks for sharing the lovely ice pics!

Tell me what you think!

