Inside Color

Today, it’s all white outside with snow. But inside, there is lots of color going on.

IMG_8278

I am loving this yarn and the color, especially. The yarn is Neighborhood Fiber Company Studio Worsted, color Charles Village. There are several reasons why I love this yarn.

First, it’s local. The dyer lives less than ten miles from me and I have met her and she is lovely.

Second, the color is named after a neighborhood that the husband and I lived in for many years. I can’t say that I know what the inspiration was for this color in that neighborhood, but she must have seen something I never did there.

Third, it’s worsted, so the knitting is going fairly quickly, which is always a plus and it has a wonderfully cushy feel.

Fourth, the color is almost exactly the same as these flowers we saw at Glacier National Park back in August. It makes me unspeakably happy to think about that place, so knitting with a color that reminds me of it makes me pretty happy, too.

70750002

Here’s another project I started this weekend.

IMG_8280

These will be mittens for one of the boys. The pattern is from this month’s Bare Naked Wools club, but as you can see, this is not the club yarn. I am sort of selfishly keeping that yarn for myself and still trying to decide which of the four patterns I want to make with it. In the meantime, the boys will be needing some new mittens for next winter, so I thought I would get a head start now.

The yarn is Cephalopod traveller in the Sherwood Garden color. I have a bit of a sentimental attachment to this color name as well. Sherwood Garden is the nickname of a local garden that we go to every spring that has over twenty beds of tulips, though none in this color.

IMG_6431

It may still be winter outside, but inside our house, it’s almost spring.

Posted on March 3, 2014, in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Again with the gorgeous pinks! The cables are really showing off nicely!

Tell me what you think!

