Spring Break Progress

While many are away in tropical climes during spring break, we stay home and use the time to do some spring cleaning, spring baking, and spring crafting. This week, I have been focusing on gluten free treats for Easter Sunday. I made these gluten free hot cross buns, two flourless chocolate cakes, and an almond sponge cake.

IMG_8440

Next week, I’ll be able to tell you if these treats were a hit or not and if they are good, I will post more details about recipes and such.

The house is mostly organized which truly is 90% of the battle here. Just don’t look in any of the closets, ok? Once all the tidying was done, I was able to concentrate on some knitting, especially two new shawls.

IMG_8448

Winterwood is quite a challenge so far, with lace stitches on every 534 stitch row. One row takes me at least 30 minutes and the truly tough rows with p3tbl stitches can take up to an hour. It has been awhile since I have tackled a lace pattern this tough and it really is good for the brain! It’s best done while awake and alert, and with a reasonable expectation of uninterrupted time, which is why I have only managed 11 rows so far. Those things are in short supply around here!

IMG_8446

Autumn Arbor is less demanding, with only 109 stitches per row, and no tricky stitches. There is lace on every row, but it’s not too bad, so this is what I have been working on when I have 10 minutes or so to spare.

When my brain is tired, I go back to my Cape Cod, which is coming along nicely.

IMG_8434

Just the cuff and one whole sleeve left to go here and then it will be done, probably just in time for sweltering hot weather. Oh, well, then I can wear one of my newly blocked shawls.

IMG_8444

I will never cease to be amazed at the magic of blocking.

IMG_8445

The lace patterns really open up and lay flat to reveal sheer beauty.

IMG_8442

The green one is the ever popular Annis pattern and the pink one is the Spring Mystery shawl; both patterns by SusannaIC. Lately, I have really been loving the crescent shape for shawls.

IMG_8443

Happy spring.

Posted on April 17, 2014, in Baking, Holiday, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy Easter!:)

  2. I love crescent shawls! Just completed one myself in almost that same shade of green 🙂

Tell me what you think!

