What’s Next?

Last week, after I finished my sweater, I had a lot of grand plans about what I was going to do next. First, I finished a hat to go with the cowl that I finished awhile ago. The hat was a pretty quick knit and even though I originally planned to give it away, it fits me so well that I think I have to keep it.

IMG_8472

I may even have enough leftover yarn to cobble together a matching set of fingerless mitts.

IMG_8465

But, then I hit a bit of a snag. Every once in a while, my hands get weak and numb. I have pretty weak hands to begin with. The husband is always teasing me because I have trouble opening any jar or lid in the house. Sometimes, even turning a doorknob or picking up a glass of water can be painful or difficult. When I have one of these episodes, I have to give my hands a rest and make sure I sleep with them in a relaxed position, not flexed in any way. If I knit anything, it has to be really lightweight. So, I cast on a new shawl.

IMG_8475

It’s one of those bottom up shawls where you cast on all the hem stitches, in this case there were 339 of them, and decrease as you knit your way up. Unfortunately, my stitch counts were off from almost the very first row. I tried to fudge it, but I was having a hard time seeing how the pattern was supposed to be lining up and it all became just too much for me. I put it aside and made some cookies instead.

IMG_8456

These cookies turned out to be too sweet, so I adjusted the recipe. Twice. None of them got rave reviews from the cookie eaters in my house. So, I changed tactics a bit and went all out in the chocolate area.

IMG_8496

These turned out better comments, but, honestly, I think I need some more cookie taste testers. I think the boys have been eating too much Easter candy or something. They can’t seem to muster up any enthusiasm over cookies lately. Well, I thought they were pretty good, but I do need to tweak the recipe a bit before I post it here, so stay tuned.

Basically, even though the past week has been super busy, I have little to show for it. Sigh. At least I have the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival to look forward to this weekend. I am making my list and checking it twice!

Posted on April 30, 2014, in Baking, Finished, Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yup. Best messed-up knitting fix ever…cookies!

Tell me what you think!

