Deadline Required

For a few months, I lost the desire to knit socks or really anything that required double pointed needles. For some reason, I just could not get into the rhythm of using dp needles, even though I have been using them for years. They are great for small circumference things, such as socks and sleeves. But, after years of using them happily, I suddenly found myself dreading them. My hands seemed to find them awkward and I was having trouble using them without getting sore hands afterwards. Plus, I was unhappy because a couple of sleeves I had done with them had developed ladders between the stitches where needle changes occurred.

As a result, my sock knitting came to a standstill and I was only using dp needles if I had no other choice, such as the top of a hat. Last week, this all changed, though, when I realized I was less than a week away from my wedding anniversary with no gift in mind. The closest thing to a gift I had was one sock and a cuff of the second. I had four days to finish the second sock if I wanted it to be on time. Amazingly, once I set that deadline, they got done.

IMG_8569

It turns out that maybe I had just lost the feel of the dp needles because I had been away from them for awhile. They just needed some concentrated time to remember how to manage them. My hands were a little tired when I was done, but no more than they would normally be after knitting around 10,000 stitches in four days. I guess I just needed a deadline to get myself going.

IMG_8570

The pattern is Jazz Strings by Knitspot. I used the Breakfast Blend yarn from her Bare Naked Wools line. The yarn makes for some very fine socks. The husband was very pleased with them and so was I.

Posted on May 20, 2014, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nice socks! I love dpn’s but I’m doing a sleeve on 2 circs right now which is working out pretty well (esp. since I’m alternating and it was just too fiddly with dpn’s).
    Happy Anniversary!

Tell me what you think!

