Going Around and Around

Last week I talked about how I was avoiding double pointed needles. Well, I still am, even though I had success finishing the husband’s socks, I am still wondering if other methods of knitting small circumferences in the round will be better for my hands and perhaps faster.

On this sweater I am experimenting with super short circular needles for the narrowest parts of the sleeves. This needle is only nine inches long!

IMG_8582

It takes a little getting used to because you can really only hold the needles with your finger tips. I think I am really preferring these for sleeves, though, because there is no danger of getting those unsightly ladders. However, they may not be as fast as dp needles because of the fiddly factor.

On these socks, I am using the two circular needle method. It’s especially good for this pattern because it is divided into a front half and a back half. It’s easier to keep track of which half I am working on with this method and the bonus is that the needle set that is not being used can be pressed into service as a cable needle. No more hunting around for a cable needle!

IMG_8588

I have also tried the magic loop method and that works ok, but it still does not leave an evenly textured fabric. Can you see the uneven spiral of stitches that were left behind on this sweater sleeve from the magic loop method?

IMG_8591

Much of this washes out during the blocking stage, but not all the time. However, I do have one or two sweaters with ladders on the sleeves from dp needles that, despite repeated washings, still persist. I don’t notice them on socks as much or things that are ribbed, but they show up on a plain knitted background quite clearly, I think. This is because it is difficult to get the tension right when switching needles. I try to err on the side of tighter rather than looser, but that is difficult to achieve all the time, especially as your needle sizes get bigger.

Don’t get me wrong, I am still happy to use dpn, just not in all circumstances. I will probably use short circulars on sleeves from now on, and the two circulars might become my new way of knitting socks. We’ll have to see how that goes especially around the heel part. Magic loop will probably not make its appearance again unless I can be convinced otherwise. This is one thing I love about knitting. There is always more than one way to do something!

Posted on May 28, 2014, in Knitting, Stuff I Use, Thankfulness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Personally, I am having a good deal of success knitting socks two at a time on two circulars! And, I’ve switched most of my small diameter knitting to two circulars as well. I do not like the itty bitty circulars because the needle tip doesn’t rest in my hand.

  2. I knit socks and the sleeves of baby/toddler sweaters on 9″ circulars. For adult sweaters, I switch to 12″ circulars. It works well for me. I haven’t learned to use 2 circulars in knitting in the round yet and may find that I prefer that, but for now, I’m happy with my smaller circs.

Tell me what you think!

