A Winner

As promised, today I am picking a winner for a set of stitch markers made by me. Using a very scientific method that involved one child and having him pick a number randomly, the winning comment was made by Mary Ann. Congratulations, Mary Ann!

Oh, and just because those stitch markers are so easy to make by the dozens, I’ve decided to give away a second set of stitch markers! This time, I asked the other child to pick a random number. He picked Smithwickstudios. I will be emailing you both and will get your stitch markers made and delivered as soon as possible!

Last week, I was really happy to have finished off two big projects, but sadly, I cannot share them with you as they are secret projects. I will be able to share them in time, though. While we are waiting, I can show you a couple of new things I started.

Here’s a new shawl project to join my herd of shawls in progress. The thing about most of my shawls in progress is that they are all very lacey and have charts that require attention. I wanted something with an easy pattern that could be memorized, but still be fun to knit. The new Hap Shawl pattern by Kate Davies is just right.

IMG_8609

I am using my latest installment of yarn from the Bare Naked Knitspot Club, a mohair and wool blend called Chebris. After the first few repeats, I had the pattern memorized and was able to knit on it in the car on the way to Hershey Park on Saturday. I started the shawl on Friday night and by yesterday I was finished with the increase portion of the shawl, which makes it about 30% done.

Now the shawl will have to be put aside, though, because I got this in the mail yesterday. It’s five skeins of Shalimar Yarns, Breathless DK, and it is fantastic.

IMG_8611

This is for another secret project. Yes, yes, I know you want details. Well, all I can say is that I am doing some test knitting for Baby Cocktails and when she releases the pattern, I will tell you all about it! Anyway, back to the yarn. It is soft and silky, but not fragile at all. The yarn has a nice weight and drape and it just feels great in the hands. I can tell already that I am going to love knitting this project and it will not be my last time using this yarn.

Posted on June 11, 2014, in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

