July is for Socks

Now that the weather has heated up and we are out of the house more with summery activities, my knitting has turned portable. It is too hot to be knitting a sweater in one piece unless it is made out of lace weight yarn or possibly fingering. I do actually have a couple of those in mind to make, but since I have just finished a couple of big sweater projects, I decided to concentrate on smaller things for the month of July. Specifically socks.

IMG_8886

This year has been light on the sock front for me. I blame it on those small double pointed needles. Something about the cold winter we had made my hand rebel against stitches that were too tiny or too big. Now, though, my hands feel ready to do some little knitting.

IMG_8883

As soon as I was free from my knitting obligations, I cast on the Gabriola Socks. This great pattern is written by a friend of mine and is just right for those colorful sock yarns you always see. It is written to help prevent the pooling and flashing that sometimes happens with those types of color combinations. I think it looks great so far on this Lorna’s Laces yarn that I got last year for finishing Camp Loopy. The colors reminds me of the flowers we saw last year on our Rocky Mountain vacation. The pattern is easy to memorize and make great tv knitting. The first half of this sock just zoomed by.

IMG_8884

Also, I could not resist this mystery sock knit along by verybusymonkey. I have admired this designer’s patterns for awhile and thought this would be a good introduction for me. So far, I am enjoying the pattern and the yarn. These socks will be for the husband as they are, in what I call, a boring man color. He will love them, though!

IMG_8885

Speaking of mystery sock knit alongs, I totally abandoned the one I started way back in May when other knitting obligations took over. Well, I also had made a series of mistakes when I was caught one day without the pattern and I was waiting for the boys to finish something. It was the only thing I had with me to work on and so I just decided to wing it from memory. That turned out to be not such a good idea and I put it aside until a few days ago. After I ripped out about ten rows, I was able to get myself back on track and now I am moving along at a better rate. I will have to do some modifications of this pattern, though, because I do not like big cables on the tops of my feet. My plan is to transition into some sort of ribbing, but I will have to see how it goes. It’s a beautiful pattern called Tree People, but it is much more heavily textured than I am used to. I am absolutely loving the yarn, though. It’s Hazel Knits artisan sock and there will definitely be more of this in my sock future.

IMG_8882

Lastly, for those times when I have no ability to remember or follow a pattern, there are always the plain socks. Recently, these came with me to the dentist and helped me get through a fairly stressful appointment. There might be a couple of super tight rows in there as a momento from that time, haha!

My plan for July is to concentrate on these socks and maybe work a little on some shawls if I need a break. We are traveling for half of the month and the other half is quickly filling up with fun activities with the boys, so I will need lots of portable knitting. What’s on your needles this summer?

Posted on July 4, 2014, in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have some sock yarn on order and a couple of pairs to stitch up the toes-and the Kate Davies ‘First footing” socks are still on the needles. Yours are lovely:)
    I am going to work on my Pea Trellis crescent for July!
    Tell the boys I said hello and hope to see you all in Rhinebeck again! (I’ll bring some cheese).

Tell me what you think!

