A Distraction

I took a little break from sock knitting last week to finish off a shawl.

IMG_8911

This is the Hap for Harriet pattern by Kate Davies. It’s an easy pattern and quite good for travel knitting or car knitting. It does require some good light when you get to the lace parts, so it is not good for knitting in the dark, but there really isn’t much call for that in my life lately. I used a new wool from Bare Naked Wools called Chebris. It’s a blend of wool and yearling mohair and it was lovely to knit with.

IMG_8912

As usual, the shawl was a bit scrunchy while I was knitting it, but it blocked beautifully. The stitch definition with this yarn is fantastic. I love how crisp it looks. It fluffed up a bit as well, and all those garter stitch ribs will trap lots of heat in the colder days to come.

IMG_8917

It was not too cold the day I finished and got these pictures taken, but I look forward to wearing it when the weather turns. Or, maybe I will give it away. I am not really sure yet. I do have one more skein of Chebris, so I could give this one away and make myself another one.

Untitled

But, I got a little distracted again and have already cast on another shawl in this super light and soft cashmere. Socks? What socks?

Posted on July 21, 2014, in Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ooooh! I love it! And I’ve long wanted to knit one of Kate Davies’ patterns.

  2. Mary Ann Knab

    The shawl is beautiful Carie! Simple and elegant.

  3. Beautiful shawl!

Tell me what you think!

