Secrets Revealed

Today I can finally show you two projects that I have been working secretly on for the last couple of months. First is a sweater that I made as a birthday present for a dear friend.

Untitled

The husband is about the same size as our friend and kindly assented to trying it on. It fit so well that I was a little worried he would not take it off!

Untitled

Fortunately, it fit our friend well, too. The pattern is Brownstone by Brooklyn Tweed and is such a classic pattern that I really think anyone would look good in one of these. Even the husband, who rarely wears sweaters and tends towards lighter layers in general, made some noises about how nice this chunky sweater was to wear. The sweater was knit in one piece form the bottom up and fairly easy to follow. I would recommend it for sure. You can see my ravelry notes about it here.

Untitled

Next, I can finally reveal another test knit for Thea of Baby Cocktails. Her new pattern, Amaro, has just been released. This is the one I have been knitting with the Shalimar Breathless yarn, which is just heavenly. The silk and cashmere content really make this sweater comfy to wear next to your skin.

DSC_0816

This one is also knit in one piece from the bottom up and with a fun saddle shoulder that gets shaped as you knit. That part was really fun to work on. I love how I always learn something new when working on a Baby Cocktails pattern.

DSC_0834

I think the styling of this sweater is especially nice. It can be dressed up or down and has a nice relaxed fit. Already, I am thinking about the next Baby Cocktails sweater that I want to knit. I have one sleeve of Bailey’s Irish Cream done, but I am not entirely happy with the fit of it, so may rip it out and do it over. I also want to do Rolling Rock because it looks a great sweater for early fall.

IMG_8926

Right now, I am still trying to focus on socks. I have one more single sock done. If I put it with the other blue one I finished a couple of weeks ago, I would have a pair. Unfortunately they do not match. Second Sock Syndrome is something I suffer from dreadfully, which is why I am planning to cast on a pink sock later today. Anyone have a cure for SSS?

Posted on July 24, 2014, in Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a lovely batch of projects! You’ve been a knitting machine!

Tell me what you think!

