Bright

This past Tuesday, I was blessed by an unusual day. The boys were done with school early and I had some time on my hands, so I did something I had been wanting to do for awhile. I reskeined some balls of yarn that has been sitting in my stash for quite awhile.

IMG_9109

Then, I made kool-aid, but without sugar. And we did not drink it.

IMG_9110

Instead, I put the yarn in it and dyed it. I have only ever done two kinds of dyeing, indigo (which you can read about here) and kool aid. I like kool aid because it doesn’t require any chemicals and is not toxic, unless you have one of those food dye allergies, but in this case it isn’t ingested, so it might be ok. Plus, there is a nice fruity aroma.

IMG_9112

The dyeing process is pretty simple. You can do it in the microwave or a pot.

IMG_9113

I did both because I had a lot of skeins and different colors I wanted to do. For the microwave, I used glass bowls that would not stain.

IMG_9114

You know when the dyeing is all done because the water turns clear because the yarn has absorbed all the color. It’s like a magic trick that never gets old.

IMG_9116

The downside to kool aid is its limited palette of bright colors, but it is a fun way to dabble in the world of dyeing without investing too much.

IMG_9118

I was going for a rainbow of colors, but did not have any green, so I will have to do that another day. At the moment, I have no immediate plans for the yarn. Perhaps the boys will want to do something with it. If you want to try your hand at kool aid dyeing, I used this guide to help me. It certainly brightened up my day.

Posted on September 4, 2014, in Knitting, Misc. Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great result but the colours make me wonder about the wisdom of drinking Kool Aid even tho its not actually available in Australia. What are your thoughts?

  2. Brilliant! (Literally, as well as figuratively, speaking 🙂

Tell me what you think!

