Returning

Well, hi there! I am so glad you are still with me after my unscheduled blog break. The past month has been chock full of new experiences for me, including a two week trip without my family to northern Michigan to be with my Dad during some medical stuff. When I left home, it was summer, when I arrived in Michigan, it was fall.

Untitled

Actually, the weather was quite awful when I got there, cold and rainy, with a chill that seemed to cut straight to my core. Since it was summer when I left home, I of course packed sorta summery clothes. Thus, I spent the entire two weeks I was there more or less wearing the same two or three outfits that were somewhat warm. It didn’t matter, though, because no one I was with was in a situation to notice or care. The last few days I was there were beautiful, however, and I was able to enjoy a bit of early fall before coming home.

Even though I was away for two weeks without the kiddos, I actually did not get as much knitting done as I thought I might. Still, I did finish one pair of socks.

Untitled

These are the Pink Pony socks by my friend, Kim Swingle. It’s a fabulous pattern; I highly recommend it!

Once home to some warmer weather, I really enjoyed a couple of days hanging out with the husband and boys before I left them yet again, but this time only for a day. The Shenandoah Fiber Festival was just a few days after I got back and a wonderful way to enjoy a beautiful end of summer/beginning of fall sort of day. Unlike the huge festivals I usually go to, this one was really nice and relaxed and not too crowded. It was actually easy to move around the place.

Untitled

There were no long lines and no huge sea of people to navigate through.

IMG_5714_(1)[1]

Look, here I am in the Verdant Gryphon booth and not only is there space to move around, but it is the afternoon and there is still plenty of stock left!

IMG_5701 (1)

It was truly a different fiber festival experience than I am used to and it was super. I finally bought one of these baskets that I have been admiring for awhile. These caused quite a stir at the Michigan Fiber Festival and it was no different at Shenandoah. It seemed as if every tenth person I saw was carrying one of these baskets.

IMG_9129

They are each handmade in Ghana by a women’s cooperative and therefore each one is unique. It was really difficult to decide which one to buy because there were all beautiful.

IMG_9128

My yarn purchases were modest since I am going to Rhinebeck in a couple of weeks. I am really looking forward to that trip as we all feel we need some time to get away, just us as a family. In the meantime, I am attempting to get back into the swing of things here. Our fall school, sports, and activities schedule is quite busy! Still, I hope to be able to find some time to share some fun things with you that I have been on my mind. What fun things have you been working on?

Posted on October 2, 2014, in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

