A Little Knitting Faith

Last week, I was able to finally block a project that had been finished for a little while. This is one of those projects that I started a long time ago, thinking it would be a quick knit, but it was not. The pattern chart was not one that I was able to see or memorize quickly, so I kept making silly mistakes. Because of this, it took more concentration than I have most of the time, so it languished. At the end, though, I seemed to finally get the hang of the chart (after the fourth repeat!) and it went more quickly.

IMG_9184

I only got a couple of quick photos of it before I carried it off to its final destination as a gift to dear friend. Believe it or not, before it was blocked, this project looked like a pile teal stringy knots. I blocked it out as much as possible and am really happy with how things opened up.

IMG_9185

Once you can see it like this, the chart all makes sense. Some projects are like this. You knit and knit and follow the directions on faith that it will all turn out ok. And once it is blocked, it nearly always is. It’s a very satisfying feeling.

The pattern is In Snowy Pinewoods by Knitspot. I used Shalimar Homage, which is a lovely blend of merino, cashmere, and silk. The silk gives it a lovely drapiness. The pattern is really well written; all the difficulties were all in my mind. It’s one of those bottom up shawls and the nice edges are knit on as you go along. All in all, I am very happy with it and I think my friend likes it as well.

In other knitty progress, I have finished the bodies of two sweaters and now I have four sleeves to knit. I’ll show you those next time.

Posted on November 11, 2014, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Your friend is blessed to have you in her life!

    On the subject of sleeves, I’m thinking of starting my next couple sweaters by knitting the sleeves first so I don’t have what seems like a mountain of sleeves standing between me and a completed garment.

  2. This is lovely. If I didn’t have a sweater to finish and another one to knit as well as sundry other projects, I would be tempted.

  3. It’s a beautiful shawl! And I must tell you that I made the matching scarf, and ripped out rows more times than I care to admit for the exact same “concentration, or lack thereof” reason!

Tell me what you think!

