12 Days of Christmas Treats!

Last week, I had a big birthday, one of those mile stone birthdays that are really no different than any other birthday except that both numbers change instead of just one. Some people like to celebrate this change with a big party and I did that for my last milestone birthday. This time, though, I opted for a quieter celebration, doing the things I love best with my boys. We went out to the Christmas tree farm to choose and cut a tree. They all indulged me while I walked around the lot and looked at every tree more than once. The one we came home with is just right for us this year; not too grand so we had no trouble getting it in and setting it up. After we went out for a lovely dinner in which we ate every speck of food put in front of us, we came home to a yummy cake that the husband made for me. Then we decorated the tree. This process is getting faster and faster every year!

IMG_9387

Because our trip to New York City back in October was meant to be my birthday present, I wasn’t expecting much in the way of gifts, but I got surprised with this.

IMG_9374

IMG_9375

Here’s what it looks like all set up.

IMG_9385

Yes, it’s a loom! This has been something I have wanted for a long time. I did a little weaving when I was in high school on a big floor loom and really loved it. In just a couple of days, I finished my first weaving project.

IMG_9382

It could be a scarf, but it is a bit short, just 46 inches. I used all leftover yarn here and actually quite love the patchworky look of it. It was interesting to see how different weights and types of yarns played together.

IMG_9383

I used sport weight and fingering weight to warp the loom (that’s the lengthwise strands) and worsted weight yarn to weave. My favorite part is how the hand-dyed yarn looked as I wove with the solid colors. The hardest part of weaving is getting the edges straight, but only practice will help with that. My next project will be with all fingering weight yarn and you can see the beginnings of it in the picture of the loom above. I am getting ready to start weaving with some variegated yarn and am anxious to see how that turns out.

Well, now that my birthday is past, we have moved on to Christmas preparations, beginning with a bazaar that the boys are going to this week. They have been having fun making little gifts to sell.

IMG_9378

We have a little of everything: Sugar scrub for dry wintery hands and

IMG_9380

cookie mixes and little games.

IMG_9384

If I have time, I will maybe make some toffee or brittle. Anything we don’t sell at the bazaar we will give away to friends and neighbors as Christmas gifts.

Speaking of giving things away…did you think I would forget about my annual Christmas goodie box giveaway? Oh no, I have not forgotten! We are just off to a bit of a late start, but I think we can eek it out. This year, I want to focus on candy. There are a lot of things I have been meaning to try and this is the perfect time of year to do it! Are you ready? Ok, here are the details:

Just like last year’s give away, you may enter by leaving one comment per post. Only one comment per person will be counted per post, but if you leave a comment for all twelve days, you will be entered twelve times! The box will mostly likely include many of the treats featured in the posts, but perhaps not all of them because not everything travels well or keeps well. Plus, I will be trying some new recipes, so there may be a flop or two. However, I will try to ensure that the winner has a nice variety! Because of perishability issues, I will have to limit this to a domestic (that is, just the United States) contest. Comments on all 12 posts must be received by midnight, December 20, eastern standard time. I will pick a winner at random on the 21st. Hopefully, I can ship on the 22nd. This is cutting it pretty close to Christmas, I know, but hopefully the winner won’t mind if their package is a day or two late.

IMG_9388

I am going to cheat a little with today’s post and not have a candy to talk about because this post is already long enough However, I will set aside a jar of that sugar scrub pictured above to get the box started. A friend of mine got me interested in making these sugar scrubs and they are super easy and very inexpensive to make at home. I just used a half ounce of olive oil per four ounces of sugar and added a teaspoon of almond extract. A lot of other recipes used more oil, but I did not like the greasiness that happened with more, so I scaled back the oil until I got something I liked. You can add more if you like or a different extract (lemon or vanilla would be nice). We just used almond because we happened to have a large bottle of it. It leaves you hands soft and lightly scented. The thing I love the most is that they are all natural, non toxic, and even edible!

IMG_9389

When you want to use it, just take a little pinch of it and rub it all over your hands. Rinse with warm water and dry with a paper towel. That’s it for today! Enjoy! And don’t forget to leave a comment!

Posted on December 9, 2014, in Family Fun, Holiday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. The scrub sounds wonderful!

  2. I don’t know how you manage to do so much, love that the boys are so involved! The hand scrub sounds so nice!!

  3. I bet that scrub smells heavenly!

  4. You’re busy, busy, busy but it sounds like you’re busy doing things you like and with people you like.

  5. Oooh, I am going to have to try this scrub. I am always dry… and what a great gift to give people! Thanks!

  6. What a great gift idea – I love sugar scrubs, but they can be pricey. Thanks for including the recipe!

    Looking forward to seeing what candies and sweets you make this year!

  7. I’m sure what you consider a “flop” will still be better than any candy I have tried to make! Thanks for sharing your holiday season with us again this year!

  8. The sugar scrub sounds wonderful! I think I might try that recipe.

  9. Sugar scrubs are amazing for dry skin on hands, arms, and legs. Love this idea of making your own!

Tell me what you think!

