Day 11: Turkish Delight

My first knowledge of Turkish Delight came from C.S. Lewis’ book, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, when it is used by a wicked witch to tempt one of the main characters. Having never heard of the candy before, I naturally wondered what it was. It must be really good to tempt a child to go with someone so clearly wicked. Sadly, Turkish Delight is almost impossible to find int his country. The husband and I were finally able to try it when we visited London five years ago. Here, we have only been able to find it at Russ and Daughters in New York.

If you have never had the candy, it is really hard to describe. It’s super sweet, made even sweeter by a coating of powdered sugar and cornstarch. The texture is like one of those citrus jelly candies, but softer, and it often has nuts suspended in it. Most are scented with rose water and tinted different pastel colors.

IMG_9505

I almost did not make this candy because every recipe I looked at involved constant stirring for at least 30 minutes and some up to an hour. Now, I like to cook and all, but I am not much for standing over a stove for an hour. However, I kept thinking about Narnia and how it was always winter there and never Christmas and I knew I would wonder about it until I made it. When I found this recipe, which has all metric weights for the ingredients, I knew I had found the right recipe to try.

There are two stages to making this candy. First, you have to boil a honey and sugar syrup to a certain temperature

IMG_9487

while simultaneously boiling a cornstarch mixture.

IMG_9491

After the sugar syrup is ready, you combine the two together. This was the hardest part, especially since the boys were out and I had no extra hands to help me. I’m afraid I wasn’t wholly successful in combining the two well enough because the mixture looked grainy to me.

IMG_9492

Then, I stirred the mixture. And stirred. And stirred some more.

IMG_9493

Basically, I stirred until my spatula head kept getting stuck in the candy and coming off. And then I stirred a few minutes more until I literally could not move the mixture around in the pot any more. Then, I had to stir in the nuts and orange flower water.

IMG_9495

I did the best I could to spread it into the pan in an even layer, which was no small feat as it was very sticky and thick. A greased spatula helped with this job and then I covered it and let it sit for a day to set. Once it was cut up, it got rolled around in powdered sugar and cornstarch so they would not stick together.

IMG_9504

Well, how was it, you ask? It was pretty good. We all liked the candy base and stood around the pot right after it was made, scraping up the bits left and eating them. The honey flavor really shines through and the texture seemed right. However, I did make one mistake with the recipe. I used salted pistachios instead of unsalted because that is what I had on hand. The final candy is a bit weird with the sweet gel and the salty nuts. It’s not bad, just not quite right if you have had the real stuff.

IMG_9506

Also, the texture is not as smooth as it should be, but for a first try, I am actually pretty happy with it. This was the most difficult candy to make so far and the fact that it is edible makes me pretty happy. I’m not sure if it would tempt any kids into following the White Witch, but that’s just as well since Christmas is well on its way in this house!

IMG_9507

Now, I want to read the Narnia books again. We’ve been listening to Charles Dickens’ story, A Cricket on the Hearth. What is your favorite Christmas story?

Posted on December 19, 2014, in Cooking, Holiday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oldie but a goodie….The Night Before Christmas!

  2. My first try was in 1983 and I used the recipe from Mimi Sheraton’s book Visions of Sugarplums. I think I used orange oil because that was all I could find, but the next year I tried the rose water that my SIL found for me at an Amish stand in Lancaster County. In Australia one could buy Turkish Delight candy bars that were like eating dusting powder from a long lost great aunt–nasty and artificially flavored. The natural rose water was pleasant, but I prefer the citrus flavor in mine. And in Baltimore one can purchase it at the Sunfresh Market on Reisterstown Road in Pikesville.

    And I, too, made it way back then because if Edmund’s fascination.

  3. That candy is beautiful and certainly does bring back memories of reading The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I applaud you for trying such a difficult recipe.

    I am really going to have to think about a favorite Christmas story… I’m stumped right now!

  4. Makes me think of the Turkish Delight sold at the open air market in The Rocks in Sydney. I didn’t try it though as the Chocolate Cafe was much more tempting!! Story- THE best Christmas Pagent Ever.

  5. I thought Turkish Delight was something CSLewis made up.

  6. You had quite an adventure with Turkish Delight. Sounds like it would be worth trying! My sons are grown now, but every year when I decorate for Christmas, I put out an assortment of their childhood favorites, my favorite of that assortment is Santa’s Book of Names by David McPhail. Of course, any book with Cricket in the title is probably worth considering!

  7. I think I have had something like this… yum. Hmmm, favorite Christmas book? Well, I do love to sing “I want a hippopotamus for Christmas”with my daughter, which we have in book form. I also enjoy “shall I knit you a hat: a Christmas yarn”, since it involves knitting!

  8. I have never heard of this candy. Looks interesting and yummy!

    My favorite Christmas book is How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

  9. That’s impressive, Carie! Turkish delight is a unique and delicious candy. I’ve had some from Turkey, and it’s pretty amazing stuff 🙂

  10. Yum. These are good and very hard to find.

Tell me what you think!

