Making Up for Lost Time

Friends, it is flu season and this year is a bad one.  We were all wiped out last week with the flu.  It’s the first time in over ten years that we had to stop everything.  There was no school. No sports.  No cooking or baking.  Friends, I even went for almost two days straight without knitting.   However, before I was forced to go to bed for those two days, I was able to get quite a bit done on a secret project and when I recovered enough to sit up, I was able to knit even more, so much more that I was able to finish that project yesterday.  Whoohoo!  When I realized last night that I could knit on something else, I literally did a happy dance around the room.  As much as I loved knitting that project, it is unlike me to knit exclusively on one thing for such an extended period of time.  Sadly, I cannot show you that finished project yet, but I will be able to pretty soon.

In the meantime, I feel free!  I have reorganized all my works in progress, wound a lot of yarn for new projects, and am totally planning a super duper cast on party!  Woohoo!  Here are a few of the things in the lineup for the near future.

IMG_9548

First, the socks.  I really need to and want to make some more socks this year.  Already this winter, I have had to retire three pairs of socks.  Initially, I thought I would try to darn them, but that is such a tedious process (insert a rather  unladylike whine here).  My gut is telling me that knitting new socks is going to be more likely accomplished than darning, but who knows?  Maybe I will have a change of heart.  In the meantime, I am back at work on these socks.

IMG_9543

Deflect pattern by Hunter Hammerson.  I am on to the heel and enjoying this fun asymmetric pattern.  The yarn is Plucky Primo fingering.

IMG_9540

I am planning some plain vanilla socks with this fun self-striping yarn.

IMG_9541

And when I get a few spare minutes and brain cells, I am going to cast on a pair of socks from the Playtime collection with this Wollemeise.  Now, this skein is oversized, about 150g, so I am hopeful that I will be able to get two pairs of socks for myself out of this one skein.  Wouldn’t that be fabulous?

IMG_9538

Next, I am hoping to be finished with this sweater in the next week or so.  All I have left is half a sleeve and the button bands, which should make easy tv knitting.  After this sweater is done, I am planning to take a short break from sweaters to concentrate on a few shawls.

IMG_9547

Well, four, actually.

IMG_9546

I’ve got a Wintersweet started, but nowhere near finished because it was interrupted by secret knitting.  It was a mystery project, but the mystery is all over now.  Still, I hope that I if I work on one clue a week as was originally published, I can have it done in a month or so.

IMG_9542

Similarly, I could not resist Ysolda’s new mystery shawl knit along, Follow Your Arrow 2.  I did one last year and had a lot of fun with it.  So, I dug up some leftover Kauni yarn and cast on at 4am this morning when I could not sleep.

IMG_9545

There’s also this cowl that I started awhile back and never showed you.  This one may well be put on the back burner for a bit because I am not feeling any special motivation to work on that one.

IMG_9539

Lastly, I have this lovely bright yarn all wound up and ready to go to knit a wedding shawl for a friend.  This one is really special, as is the friend, so I know I will enjoy this knit.  There’s a deadline for this one, so it will likely be started pretty soon.

Wow, with the flu behind us and that big secret project behind me, I feel as if the new year is really beginning now.  I think I have a pretty good start so far!

Posted on January 21, 2015, in Inspiration, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I would love to know more about the awesome fabric bags that your yarn is in! Is there a tutorial/pattern you could share with me?? Thanks!

  2. Everything looks pretty fantastic!

Tell me what you think!

