Fighting the Winter Blahs

This winter has been quite dreary for us so far. We’ve had no snow to speak of, but lots of clouds and cold rain. Also, someone in the house has been sick four out of the past five weeks. Generally speaking, I think we are all feeling a bit low on energy and motivation. This past week, I was in need of some bright color to cheer me up a bit. So, I cast on a new shawl.

IMG_9604

I love this bright green. So cheerful and the yarn, a silk and cashmere blend is super soft and light. This project is a gift for a friend, but I will definitely be watching the Posh yarn updates to see if I can get some for myself. I’ll have to be quick, though, because they seem to sell out quite quickly.

This year, I have also joined two different yarn clubs. The past couple of years, I have loved getting yarn from the Bare Naked Wools club. This year, they have decided to do a blanket club, which will be fun, but I decided that would be better suited for stash knitting.

Still, I love getting surprise boxes of yarn, so I am trying out the Rockin’ Sock Club. The first shipment came early last week and I love the bright colors!

Spoiler alert!

IMG_9600

Toe up socks are something I do not do often, but it is great for the mind to try something new every once in awhile. Plus, there is the added benefit of being able to try them on as you go.

IMG_9603

I have to say that despite the fact the the sock yarns from Blue Moon Fiber Arts have no nylon in them, they hold up quite well. The yarn is very tightly spun and if you knit them at a tight gauge, they last quite a long time. Usually, I try to not knit socks with yarns that have no nylon or silk because I have had a few pairs wear out on me rather quickly. BMFA sock yarn is the exception in my sock drawer, which is part of the reason why I did not feel any hesitation about signing up for the club. This year is the club’s tenth anniversary and from what they say, there will be some extra fun things coming.

The second club I joined is a new operation: The Fiberista Club. This club is interesting because aside from choosing a color preference and a yarn weight preference, you really have no idea what you are getting. In January, I received two skeins of sport weight yarn in a gorgeous merino, cashmere and silk blend.

This month, it was two skeins of lace weight yarn from a new yarn dyer. The shipments so far have been a great value for the price and nicely packaged. Plus, there have been extra goodies in each box. Last month, it was a set of gift tags and this month, a little tote bag. After everyone gets their package, they release a pattern or two to go with the yarn. We are still waiting for February’s patterns, but I expect they will be up shortly.

IMG_9601

Oh, I almost forgot, I finally finished my Tea Leaves Cardigan!

IMG_9593

The sleeves grew a little when I blocked, so they are folded back here.

IMG_9589

It fits pretty well, though is probably better suited for spring weather as it lets in quite a draft. I did consider putting more buttons on so that I could button it all the way, but I like this look as well.

Aside from yarn, I have been trying to keep everyone’s spirits up and bolster spirits by making lots of soup. Last week, while the husband battled a sinus infection, I tried making my own ramen noodles.

IMG_9594

I used this recipe for the noodles, but made my own broth from pork belly, ginger, green onions, and a little garlic. It was super delicious. It took me two days to get this together, so not something I can make spur of the moment, but it was well worth the work. If I make it again, I will try to get some more detailed notes so that I can share them with you.

This weekend is Vday and Chinese New Year and I have done almost nothing to prepare for them. So unlike me, I know. Ah well, I suspect we will come up with something. Maybe I will make some donuts or cinnamon buns tomorrow!

So, how are you coping this winter?

Posted on February 13, 2015, in Family Fun, Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m so glad to hear that about Blue Moon. I’ve got a skein in my stash but have been hesitant to use it for socks. I love knitting socks at a tight gauge; now I’m kind of excited to try the yarn!

Tell me what you think!

