Ommegang

Today, I finally get to share with you a sweater that has been in the works for months! Ommegang, by Thea Colman.

IMG_9555

It’s a gorgeous tunic length sweater with lots of cables and a really cool asymmetric design. When I first found out that Thea was going to be designing a sweater using Bare Naked Wools, I was ready and eager to sign up for the testing phase. In her version, she uses Stone Soup. I opted to used their Kent DK.

IMG_9409

Now, this sweater is not for those who want a quick project. From collar to hem, mine measures more than 30 inches. In the round, it seems like the lower body takes an eon to knit, but the cables keep it interesting and the yarn was lovely to work with. It was light and soft at the same time and looks great in cables.

IMG_9559

I opted to do a mock turtleneck version, but with the recent frigid weather we’ve been having, I have been considering redoing it with the full slouchy turtleneck or even maybe a folded over cowl version. I think I will wear it a few more times first to see how I like it.

IMG_9550

Normally, I stay away from tunics, not because I don’t like them, but because I feel that I don’t have the wardrobe to go with them. I am not much of a boot person and leggings make me self conscious. But, I do have one or two pairs of skinny legged pants that might be ok with the sweater. In any case, I love the sweater so much that I am willing to go buy whatever pants I need to wear with them.

IMG_9557

The sweater is fabulously warm, which is perfect timing because we are having one of our coldest nights of the season tonight. Rumor has it that we will see negative temps tonight! I may put it on and never take it off. It looks like there is plenty more cold weather coming this winter so if you get moving, you could have one of these for yourself, too.

Thea’s patterns are fabulous. They are easy to follow and come with lots of tips on how to get a fit that you like, not necessarily the one shown on the model. Plus, they always have interesting details that are integrated into the design of the sweater without being overly trendy. For me, this is essential because if I am going to spend all those hours knitting a sweater, I want it to be fun and I want it to be timeless. This sweater is both of those things. Thank you Thea!

p.s. I didn’t take a lot of notes as I was knitting this since it was over the Christmas holidays and into January when we all had the flu, but here’s the link to my ravelry page if you want to look at it: CrafTeaMama’s Ommegang

Posted on February 18, 2015, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. That is gorgeous! You are an amazing knitter.Pull out those skinny jeans and work this awesome tunic. It deserves to be shown off! Just beautiful.

  2. Wow! What a gorgeous sweater. Hope to see it in person too. Looka great on you.

  3. Absolutely beautiful on you! I’m amazed at the gorgeous work you do. I love this sweater and it looks fantastic on you!

  4. I am speechless… just wow!

  5. Oh my goodness, that is lovely!! I’ve been searching for something really warm that I can wear with tights. Love the natural color, too!

Tell me what you think!

