Not Freaking Out

We have lived in this area for over twenty years and in this current house for twelve. My older son was one when we moved into this house. Neither one of my kids has really known any other home, so this whole moving thing is a huge unknown to them. It is safe to say that our feelings are mixed. Some days we are excited about this new adventure. Other days we are sad about the things and people we love that we will be leaving behind. In between, we are overwhelmed by the big task of actually selling our house, buying a new one, and moving our entire worldly goods to a place we barely know.

Right now, we are just trying to enjoy our time left here and take things one step at a time. Of course, we have to keep our house immaculately clean while we are doing it, which is SO not my nature. In between cleaning, going about our usual school days, and taking every opportunity to see our dear friends, I am keeping myself from freaking out by baking through my pantry and eating through the freezer.

This is easier said than done. I’m the type to like a well stocked pantry because you never know when you’ll want to make a huge batch of chocolate chip walnut cranberry oatmeal cookies or date bars or a fancy layer cake. I have probably five or six types of nuts, the same number of dried fruits, not to mention all kinds of various flours and other ingredients. Then, there’s the stockpile of liquor that has to be used up since the movers will not take those. But, I am determined, and we are making some progress. In the past couple of weeks, I made three loaves of banana bread, three loaves of raisin bread, and three loaves of rum cake. Today, I was able to use up almost two pounds of dried figs by making filling for homemade fig newtons.

IMG_9687

For these, I used the recipe for X cookies in the Baking with Julia cookbook and shaped them like fig newtons instead. These cookies keep fantastically well and we all love them.

Yesterday, I baked all the Pepperkakor cookie dough that was left in the freezer. These are also really good keepers. We should have enough cookies to keep up well fed during snack times for at least a few days!

IMG_9689

With all this baking, it feels a little bit like Christmas around here, only cookies are shaped like bunnies and sheep, and there are flowers blooming outside. Believe it or not, I have even been able to do a little recipe testing and development, which I hope to be able to share with you soon. Now, if only I could just figure out how to use up the 5 jars of molasses that I have in the cupboard…

Posted on April 24, 2015, in Baking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. No surprise but I really like pepparkakor. Eating them with a glass of cold milk brings me back to my childhood. I’m lazy so buying them at IKEA is my preferred option.

  2. I think, at some point, I just started giving things away to friends. I’ve moved 4 times in the last 3 years.

  3. Adrianne Hills

    I’ll be happy to drive your pantry items to you in MA, including the liqueurs. Friends have done that service for me over the years and I can now pass on the kindness.

  4. Oh, Carie, I do not envy you this task! Maybe a little glass of liqueur at the end of a day might help whittle down the collection!

Tell me what you think!

