Snapshots

Hello friends! It has been so long since I have been here that I almost forgot my login password. Lots has happened in the summer of my absence. If you haven’t been following me on Instagram, here is a summary of what has been going on here since I last posted.

We moved. It went as well as a move could have. We had a great moving team. Really, I don’t think I could have asked for better packers and movers.

Here comes the piano! #askforgeorgeandjim #castinemovers #reallymovingnow

Needless to say, we were quite busy for awhile unpacking, organizing, and getting used to a new area. We also tackled quite a bit of work that needed to be done on the house. The boys helped tear down and scrape off wallpaper in three rooms.

My not so little helpers.  After three straight days of scraping wallpaper glue, these boys have earned some ice cream!  #diy #reallydislikewallpaper #lovemyboys

We also ripped up the carpet in the kitchen Yes, you read that right. There was carpet in the kitchen. It was unspeakably gross.

What we found under the carpet we just pulled up in the kitchen.  What you don't see is the thick layer of dust we vacuumed up.  At least I can clean this floor! #diy #kitchenremodel

It wasn’t all work and no play for the last three months, though. We took a couple of day trips to Cape Cod and Rockport, MA

Beautiful day in Rockport today.  #newenglandlife

and Portland, Maine. In Maine, we celebrated my younger son’s 10th birthday.

All in all, we ate a lot of lobster.

Lobster roll!  #eatinglikeanewenglander

And fried clams.

Fried clam dinner.  #eatinglikeanewenglander

And donuts, which were fantastic for cake donuts. I was really surprised how much I liked them.

I was even able to get some knitting done. First, a shawl.

Nearing the end of this shawl.  Just counted the beads to discover I am short by one bead.  #mustardseed #knittersofinstagram #justgoingtomakedo

It turned out great, even though I ran out of beans and yarn and had to fudge the bind off row.

Finally finished after running out of beads and then running out of yarn with about 30 stitches left to bind off.  Had to do some fiddling and it isn't as pointy as it should be, but I still like it. #justgoingtomakedo #knittersofinstagram #mustardseed #b

Next, I am working on fingerless mitts for the boys.

Fingerless mitt fun.  Loving this continuous pattern!  #knittersofinstagram #knitworthy2 #mustmakeanother #gettingreadyforwinter

We even squeezed in a trip to New Hampshire to pick apples, and I have been experimenting with apple cake recipes. The first one tasted good, but did not all make it out of the pan.

Just so you know, not everything turns out well here.  #bakingfromscratch #applecakefail #stilltastesok

The second one came out beautifully, but did not taste as good.

Apple cake, take 2.  #bakingfromscratch #beautifulfood #sixapplesinonecake

That’s it in a nutshell, but I won’t lie. Moving has been a tough thing to do. In the last couple of weeks, I have really missed my friends and all the structures we had in place for the boys. I haven’t had a full week yet without having some sort of meltdown. But, today, I found myself with a free hour and I thought I would come and give you an update of some sort. Thanks for stopping by and sticking around!

Posted on October 5, 2015, in Baking, Family Fun, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Karen Glotzbach

    Moving is a major life event! Just because you have moved into your new home does not mean that life will now settle into place exactly the way that you want it to… allow yourself time to accept all the differences and to really get used to the new normal. It’s okay to have meltdowns… and we are here to listen!

  2. Well done on the move. It’s alwsys hard work. As for carpet in the kitchen, I think I have seen something even more gross – carpet in the bathroom that went all the way to the base of the toilet. All you can ask yourself is ‘what were they thinking?’

  3. Welcome back! I’ve been thinking about you…knowing you were moving. Glad to hear you made it through and looking forward to hearing more about the new place. I’m sure it will be filled with knitting, sewing and wonderful aromas in no time 😉

Tell me what you think!

