Luminous

Fall has always been my favorite season. I love the coolness after the heat of summer and way the shadows become longer. The sunlight seems tinged with more orange and red and the air becomes crisp and clean feeling. I can open the door (it would be windows, but our windows are painted shut, haha) and feel a pleasant breeze. Everything smells faintly of apples and dry leaves. This year, our first fall in New England, all these things that I love about fall are intensified and magnified. Our house is full of windows and out of every window is a view like this.

IMG_9786

And when you go outside to check the mail or take out the trash, this is our view.

IMG_9770

Or you might see this.

IMG_9769

Today, as I drove to the grocery store, I almost ran off the road several times because I was distracted by the view. We have been fortunate to have a lot of dry, clear days, which practically beg us to go outdoors and explore. So, we did. Here is what we saw.

DSC_3701

DSC_3687

DSC_3684

DSC_3672

DSC_3721

These last five pictures are ones the husband took on his fancy camera. We were at a wildlife sanctuary not too far from us that had some good hiking trails. There are actually quite a few of these little sanctuaries in our area which we are looking forward to exploring more.

On Monday, which was another perfect weather day, we went to a farm quite close to our house and learned quite a bit about honey bees. I don’t actually have any pictures of that trip, but I can show you what I brought back with me.

IMG_9772

They have a flock of Romney sheep on the farm and at the little produce shop, they were selling yarn from their flock. This is 100% Romney processed by the Green Mountain Spinnery in Vermont. Plus, it was quite inexpensive. I won’t say how much here, but it was low enough that I felt I could buy it even though I am not supposed to be buying yarn.

Speaking of yarn, we are leaving tomorrow for our annual trip to the New York Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY! I am so excited. This will be our only non move related vacation of the year and even though I have a tiny budget, I am so glad to be getting away to have fun that I can hardly wait. I’ll tell you about it after we get back.

In the meantime, thank you so much for all the kind words from last week’s post. Things are settling down. Driving around is getting easier and the house is slowly getting organized. Life is a series of hard and soft spots and sometimes the hard things throw us off a bit. But, all of it is good for us, even if it is just to remind us of the things we can be thankful for.

Like fall

and apples

and these boys who I get to have lunch with every day.

My view for lunch today.  #newenglandlife #nofilter #homeschoolingdays

Posted on October 15, 2015, in Family Fun, Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. paigeeickelberg

    It looks so beautiful there. Have a wonderful time at the festival!!

  2. I’m delighted to see your blog resurrected. The fall colors have me longing for another Boston visit.

Tell me what you think!

