Falling

Rhinebeck aka the New York Sheep and Wool Festival has come and gone.  It was the usual whirlwind of people, colors, wool, animals, and yummy foods.  To add to the fun this year it also snowed.  At one point I was walking through a swirl of bright red orange leaves and snowflakes.  The snow meant that it was a little chilly.  In fact, I barely took off my coat all weekend, which was a shame because it is fun to show off handknits.  It was so cold that I barely took any pictures and that is partly why it has taken me so long to write up this post as I have been waiting for the husband to download the pictures he took so I can use those.   Life is busy, though, and time’s ticking by, so you’ll just have to make do with what I have.

The cold did not stop me or anyone else from shopping, and I think maybe people were buying extra because of the cold, even though we all know that there’s not much hope that all of that yarn will be turned into winter garments or accessories before the winter is over.

One thing different about my trip to Rhinebeck this year was that I got to help out in a booth for a little bit.  My friend Michele makes wonderful bags that are super useful for knitting projects, purses, etc.  You can find her bags on etsy at her ThreeBagsFull shop.

I also loved reconnecting with knitting friends.

RbmeandDeb

My Rhinebeck shopping strategy this year was to try to buy things that are harder to find elsewhere.  For example, these two skeins of Cormo from Foxhill Farm and this skein of blue sock yarn from indigodragonfly.  The former does not have an online shop and really only sells through these festival shows.   The latter is based in Canada and I took the opportunity to try a skein without having to pay international shipping rates.

IMG_9788

My only sweater quantity is this lovely berry color from Harrisville.  I have been told that this is a great yarn for sweaters and am looking forward to trying it.  Any sweater suggestions are welcome!  I am leaning towards a pullover, maybe something with cables, but not too many as I don’t want the sweater to be too heavy.

IMG_9793

Before we left, we made a quick stop at the Knitspot pop-up shop.  It is always a treat to see their yarns in person and they never disappoint.  I’ve got three of their newest ones to try: Better Breakfast Blend, Hempshaugh, and Chebris lace.

IMG_9787

And that’s it really.  The trip went by really quickly and I am already looking forward to next year.  For now, I better get knitting!

Posted on October 29, 2015, in Family Fun, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you so much for helping out with the booth! You’re hired for next year 🙂
    Thea has a new cardigan coming out that looks like it’s in a heathery type yarn like yours.

Tell me what you think!

