Inside Out

Usually, I don’t show you the wrong side of my knitting, not because there is anything really bad about it, but it’s just not that interesting.  We like to have all the interesting bits on the outside where everyone can see and admire them.  The inside is normally dull, but this is not the case when it comes to thrumming.

Thrumming involves knitting bits of unspun wool into your fabric to create a fleece lined piece of clothing.  In most cases, this means mittens.  The fluffy wool traps lots of air and keeps one extra warm.  These are hand ovens for sure.

They look sorta plain on the outside.  The thrums I used seem to be too fluffy for the yarn I am using for the main part of the mitten.  But, they have a kinda cool textured look. However, wait until you see what they look like when it is turned inside out.

All that fluffy wool turns these ordinary looking mittens into mittens with superwarming powers.  My only complaint about knitting these is that it is pretty slow going.  Every one of those thrums take a little extra time to knit in, not to mention the time it takes to make the thrums in the first place.  I grossly underestimated the number of thrums I would need for one mitten and had to stop knitting work on these three times in order to make more thrums.  Now, I have a whole ‘nother mitten to do and I am starting to feel the same way I do when I finish one sock.  Easily distracted.  I may just have to take a break and knit a sweater.

 

Posted on November 24, 2015, in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. DebbyMc/Mombee13

    I love it! I’ve always wanted to try the technique but it seems like overkill for San Diego haha! Keep going!

  2. I love them! I have a pair on the needles myself, from last year….talk about easily distracted 😉

Tell me what you think!

