Day 7: Buttermilk Waffle Mix

Every year for the past dozen or so years, we have gathered with some very close friends for a post Christmas brunch that we affectionately call brunchmas.  We started this tradition the year we moved into the first house house we bought, which we recently sold.  Sadly, we are not able to host the brunch this year as we now live a six hour drive away from those cherished ones.  Hopefully, the brunch will still happen, though, as we plan to travel down and one of the other families has offered to host.

That first brunchmas, I got this fantastic waffle iron for my birthday just a couple of weeks beforehand and so I made buttermilk waffles.  They were such a hit that I now make them every year and we have them frequently throughout the year as well.    The recipe is easy and multiplies easily as well.

To take with us, I quadrupled the recipe and was able to fit it into a quart sized mason jar with some tapping on the counter to get the flour to settle.  I intend to make the whole jar all at once (there are fifteen of us, actually 16 but one is not born yet) so I did not bother to mix the ingredients together.  If you want to make a big batch and then store it to measure out a cup or two at a time, I recommend that you do it in a bug bowl and give all the ingredients a good stirring so that all the leavenings and salt get evenly distributed.

This recipe does call for buttermilk when it is time to mix, but if you want to make your mix even easier to make, add 3 Tablespoons of buttermilk powder per cup of flour.  Then, when you go to make them, increase the amount of mix used to a scant 1 and 1/4 cup  and use 1 cup of water instead of the buttermilk.  The butter and egg should remain the same.

This mix could probably be used for pancakes as well, though I have never tried it that way, strangely enough.  It makes a light, crispy, and buttery waffle that soaks up maple syrup really well, though I often eat them plain.  Any leftovers can be stored in the fridge or freezer and toasted when needed.

It was really fun to read about everyone’s Christmas morning routines.  I love that so many of them were similar!  Today, I would love to hear about your favorite breakfast food.

BUTTERMILK WAFFLES

makes about 8 medium sized waffles to serve 3-4

1 cup all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 Tablespoons buttermilk powder (optional)

1 cup well shaken buttermilk or water if using the buttermilk powder

4 Tablespoons melted butter

1 large egg

Preheat your waffle iron.

Whisk all dry ingredients in a bowl that is big enough to mix your batter comfortably.  If you are making mixes, the dry ingredients can be packed away and stored in airtight bags or jars for up to six months at this point.

Pour in the buttermilk or water, the melted butter, and the egg.  Whisk until a thick batter is formed.  Spoon into your iron to barely fill the bottom.  To minimize leaks, underfill at first to give you an idea of how much your iron can hold.  Cook according to your iron’s directions and serve as soon as possible, preferably with butter and maple syrup.

Posted on December 14, 2015, in Cooking, DIY, Holiday, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I love breakfast and this post literally has me drooling!

  2. Day 7. Entry 7.
    I love your brunchmas idea. A special time to spend w/special people. And your waffles look yummy!
    I personally am not a big breakfast person but I do like hashbrowns from McDonalds or pastries from a bakery.

  3. “Bug bowl”? Boy, you do have some interesting cooking equipment!

    Your birthday gift is mixed in with Christmas gifts waiting for you with your friends. I tossed in several things, including books that needed returning, into the the one giant gift bag. The sorting out of wool, however, will have to wait until I come for another visit.

  4. We have a tradition similar to yours with a Christmas brunch. I am ready to mix things up and alter the menu, but there are too many complaints from the participants. We always make Monte Cristo sandwiches and serve them with raspberry preserves (or maple syrup for those who like that). Your waffles sound yummy!

  5. Love your waffle iron! I’m a major breakfast fan. I can eat it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I do enjoy a bowl of grits (I know – you either love them or hate them) preferably with salt and lots of butter!

  6. Brunchmas. Can not wait!!!!

  7. I love over easy eggs. Not super easy to cook without the yoke breaking.

  8. yumm these look good! DBF taught me that same trick with powdered buttermilk – really hsndy sincecwe never keep buttermilk on hand. i love German pancakes or Swedish crepes – both recipes from DBF’s mother.

  9. Oooh. I have a similar homemade pancake mix! It makes weekend mornings just that much quicker. I’ll definitely give this a go!

  10. yum! waffles are the best! glad to know the buttermilk powder is a viable option. i’ve thought about buying some a number of times but haven’t actually done it yet :).

  11. In our house, we love breakfast tacos!!

Tell me what you think!

