Off to a Good Start

After the crazy busy-ness of the holidays, I am always relieved to find myself in January with its quiet nights and less eventful days.  With no presents to get, cookies or gifts to make, and no one I really feel I need to see since I just saw them all recently, I find myself with seemingly oodles of extra time.  I know that as spring approaches and the daylight hours get longer, I will see that time disappear into outside time.  There will be lots of yard work and walks and sports events that will take me out of the house when the weather gets warmer.

For now, though, there are still cold, dark nights during which I can really spend some quality time indoors with my unfinished projects and with my boys.  Last week, we went on a Clue playing binge.  We played several games on consecutive days, something we rarely do.  During those games, I managed quite a bit of progress on those mittens I showed you last week.  Once I got past the thumb gusset, I worked on it in earnest even while not playing Clue, and finished them off.

You’ll notice that one mitten is a smidge smaller than the other.  This probably comes from knitting them two years apart.  It’s a strange thing, but knitting gauge is very fluid and subject to all kinds of variation depending on mood and circumstance.  That’s why it is a good idea to knit matching things either at the same time or at least very close in time with each other.  Unfortunately, I am terrible at doing that, mostly because I am easily bored and don’t usually want to knit the same thing twice in a row.

These are for my younger son, who really seems to appreciate handknits, though he also has a propensity for losing things.  So far, though, he has only ever lost one handknit item, probably because I watch him like a hawk, haha.

Another finished item this week is a test knit I have been working on since Thanksgiving.  The pattern is released now and is called Plum Wine by Babycocktails.

My version is knit with Rowan Felted Tweed dk, a favorite yarn of mine.  This is my third sweater made with this stuff and surely not my last.

The sweater pattern itself is really fun.  The body gets knit all in one piece up to the armholes.  Then after the fronts and back are finished and shoulders seamed, the sleeves are knitted in using a short row method to create sleeve caps.  It’s got just the right balance of easy knitting and interesting knitting so that it is not too boring or challenging.

The result is a classic style that anyone can wear.

It’s also super comfy.  In my yarn, it is a light, but warm sweater.  With a heavier yarn, it would by cozier and fantastic for those cold wintry nights when you just want to stay inside.

You can see my project notes here on my Ravelry page.

This is the first sweater I have finished in over six months, which feels really good.  This year is looking pretty good so far.  The next sweater has already been swatched for and a sleeve has been cast on.  Let’s hope I can keep the momentum going.

Posted on January 13, 2016, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It looks like you’ve got your knitting mojo back! I’ve fallen in love with BabyCocktails and I especially like that particular sweater 🙂

Tell me what you think!

