Mostly Functional

If you are following me on Facebook or Instagram, you will know this already, but I will repeat it here. We have a working kitchen again!! Woohooo! From the first day of demolition to last Tuesday when we had the plumber came to hook up the dishwasher, oven, and sink, we had 49 total days without the use of our kitchen. We had many a late night working on the kitchen, but as we all knew it would be from the beginning, it was worth it in the end.

So, let me catch you up on what has happened since the wall cabinets were installed.

The first big thing was installing the countertops. I think I did mention there was some drama about our countertops in an earlier post. The last time we talked counters, I showed you a picture of one of the slabs that we picked. Here it is again so you don’t have to go searching back.

The second slab was supposed to be a bookmatch to that one, meaning it would be a mirror image. We saw it at the warehouse and confirmed that it did indeed look like the bookmatch. Both those slabs were put on hold and the numbers were sent to our fabricator.

We then had to delay our schedule by a week at that point because we knew we could not get the cabinets installed in time. In the meantime, our slabs were supposed to be ordered by the fabricator and then delivered to them. All seemed fine. We got our base cabinets installed and the fabricator came to make the template for our counters. The next day, I went to place the templates on the slabs. Everything still seemed fine until they moved the top slab and revealed the second slab that was delivered.

And here is the first one.

Kitchen renovation day 42:  Placing the counter templates on the slabs was fun.  #kitchenremodel #gettingexcitednow #thegraniteplace #canyouseethewolfshead?

Hmmm, the boys and I agreed that they were really different from each other and one was very different from the slabs we had chosen. Despite some niggling doubts, we went ahead and placed the templates, but as soon as I got home, I checked my photos and slab numbers. That’s when I discovered that the warehouse had sent the wrong slabs. Neither one of the slabs was a match to the ones I had ordered! One of them was from the same lot, but it was not the same number. The second slab that looked very different was from another lot altogether.

What followed was a couple of hours of discussions back and forth with my fabricator with photos being texted back and forth. There were calls from my fabricator to the warehouse. It turns out that one of the slabs that I had picked had a crack in it and could not be sold. Or at least that’s what the warehouse said. So instead of calling anyone to let us know, they sent a slab from an entirely different lot of stone? And that doesn’t explain what happened to the other slab I ordered, for which we never got an explanation. At this point, my fabricator was saying that if they did not have the slabs by the next day, they would have to reschedule. Which would mean delaying the completion of the kitchen. Fortunately, the one slab that the warehouse sent was close enough to the ones I picked that we decided to keep it if they could find the next one in line. Natural stone slabs are cut like slices of bread. You know how awkward it is to make a sandwich with slices that aren’t right next to each other? Well, stone slabs can vary quite a lot, even in the same “loaf”, so if you need more than one slab, it is best to choose adjacent slices. Fortunately for us, they had the next slab in line, and they were willing to ship the next day (it was their mistake after all). Here it is.

That afternoon of stress actually marked the beginning of the phase of Kitchen renovation that I am calling “Project Fatigue”. Up until this point, regardless of the obstacle, I still felt energetic and enthusiastic and ok with spending all my waking energy on the kitchen. However, after the incident with the counters, I was decidedly ready to be done with it. Thankfully, at that point, we really were nearing the end of the project. After a few more days, the fabricator came to install the counters.

Unfortunately, we have a lot of steps, so the guys had to roll the counter over the grassy hill in front of our house.

We were really impressed that they were able to cut the counters and install them without any seams.

What a transformation! It’s hard to know when you are designing a kitchen and picking out all the things that go into it whether or not they will all look good together. It’s even more stressful because there is a lot of money involved in making these decisions, which is why the problem with the warehouse was a big deal. It all worked out in the end, though, and we love the counters.

Kitchen renovation day 48:  countertops today!  Woohoo!!! #kitchenremodel #soapstone #gettingexcitednow

My advice to you if you are still in the planning stages of your project is to stay on top of all the details. Don’t assume everyone is doing what they should be doing and don’t be afraid to ask to check on any detail. It’s your project and your money that is paying them after all.

After the counters were in, I had one more loooong day with the plumber. I won’t go into the details of that day here if you don’t mind. Suffice it to say that it was the cherry on top of my week of “Project Fatigue” and it was a day of torture for me. I think I just want to forget that day and focus on other things now.

Like what a joy it is to have running water in the kitchen and a working dishwasher.

Those are the things we missed the most. Well, I did miss baking a little bit.

We still have some things to finish up before we can call the kitchen officially done, but it’s mostly fun stuff like organizing cabinets.  Next time, I will try to show you some better pictures of the kitchen as a whole because it really is an amazing difference.

 

 

Posted on May 10, 2016, in DIY, Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Carie, it’s been so much fun watching the transformation from old to new! It sounds like you learned an incredible amount as well 🙂 Now to focus on baking some yummy things! Congrats!

  2. I can’t wait to see the photos of the finished kitchen!

  3. thecrazysheeplady

    It has NOT been so much fun watching the transformation… I get a little sick to my stomach reading these posts. Can you tell I recently went through a kitchen remodel, too? 😉

Tell me what you think!

