That was Fast

This summer is going to be recorded in our family history books as one of the busiest and fastest moving summers we have ever had.  I feel like I have barely blinked and two months have passed by.  Another thing I discovered this week as I opened up this blog for the first time in weeks is that this blog is five years old!  Amazing how the months roll by.  At the time, so many moments seem to last longer than they should, but in hindsight I wish they had lasted longer.  Oh well.  C’est la vie.  I will try not to waste my time in past regrets, just like I won’t waste your time by going on about how I did not mean to be gone from the blog so long.  The truth is, we all have to do what we need to do in the time that we have and sometimes we have time for extra things and sometimes we don’t.  My goal is just to be grateful for what I am doing right this minute, which is talking to you, and also to be grateful that you are spending your precious time listening.  Thank you.

Sunset.  #vacay #beachtime #betterthanfireworks #nofilter

Beach time.  #vacay #knittersofinstagram

One berry two berry, pick me a blackberry.  #summerfruit #berrypicking #familyfun #vacay

Last beach day.  #vacay #beachtime

Now, onward.  To kind of celebrate the five year birthday of this blog, I’ve created a new tab at the top of the page here for recipes.  Hopefully, when you click on that, you will find a nice tidy list of recipes with hyperlinkies attached that I have posted over the past five years.  They are separated into categories that I hope will be helpful if you are looking to make a particular type of food.

#lagunabeach

Really loving the rose garden in Balboa Park.  #sandiego #beautifulday

Dessert.  #creamistry #supersmooth #liquidnitrogen

Japanese fries, breakfast crepes, and tacos.  #foodtrucklove #yummy #socal #eatingourwaythroughCA

It was fun to go through all my past recipes.  There’s lots of cake and jam and cookies, lol!  It’s really amazing to think about how much sugar and butter we have gone through in the past five years as well.  People often remark that they wonder how we stay so skinny with all the goodies I make.  Well, all I can say is that we have two growing boys who are very active and they keep us active and busy enough that a piece of cake or bread treat a day isn’t going to make us fat.  Also, we try to keep our portions small and I utilize a big deep freezer for extras.  We hardly eat any packaged foods, which also means any treats we eat we usually make ourselves.  Sometimes, we share as well!

Lunch at the beach. #vacay #beachtime #yummy #justneedamargarita

The photos above were taken on our various travels lately, which included visiting both coasts of the continent.  Thankfully, for the next few weeks, we are at home and experiencing our first New England summer.  (Even though we were here last summer, it did not really count as a summer for us as we were stressed with moving and new home and job stuff.)  The first thing we did when we got back was to enjoy the local produce.

I hope to have some more inspiration and ideas to share with you soon.  In the meantime, enjoy the new tab with all the recipe links!

 

 

 

Posted on July 26, 2016, in Family Fun, Inspiration, Thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It’s wonderful to see the photo recap of your summer.

Tell me what you think!

