Day 6: Pizzelles

Most people I know collect something.  For some, it’s teapots.  For others, it might be beer steins.  If a person has a lot of money, they tend to collect things like art or cars.  Me, I collect cookie cutters.  I look for cookie cutters everywhere I go and I have quite a large collection now.  It’s so large, that I have to sort it by holiday to avoid having to dump out the bin when I need a particular shape.  I love pretty much anything to do with making cookies and now that I have caught the Springerle bug, I can see myself buying and collecting those as well.

But today, we’re going to talk about the ultimate cookie making tool: the Pizzelle maker.  I bought this on impulse last week when I was making my list of recipes I wanted to make for you.   I ran across a recipe for this cookie and remembered how a friend of mine would sometimes bring them to our church’s cookie exchange and how much I loved them.  The two or three that went home with me in the box never seemed to be enough.

Now, I know what you are thinking.  This is a one trick puppy.  It only makes pizzelles.  You cannot make anything else with it.  Generally speaking, I stay away from tools that can only be useful for one thing and won’t get much use except for one or two weeks out of the year.  But, then I read that pizzelles can be used to make cannolis (if you’re willing to depart from the traditional fried shells) and ice cream cones.  It was the ice cream cones that sold me.  Before I knew what hit me, I hit the buy now button and the rest is history.

We don’t regret a thing.

Firstly, it is insanely easy to make these.  In the time it takes to make the batter, the iron heats up and then everything is ready.  This pizzelle maker makes two pizzelles every thirty seconds!  In less than fifteen minutes, we had 2 dozen pizzelles, some of which we fashioned immediately into ice cream cones.

It went by so fast that we couldn’t stop there and the next day, we made another batch with candied ginger.  Even with the extra couple of minutes that it took to finely chop the ginger, we were done in 15 minutes.  Amazing.

The first day, we made a vanilla version with salted butter.  However, we all agree that the ginger ones are better.  Once I find some anise extract, I will make some with that flavor because I have read that those are the traditional flavor for this time of year.  I also think that candied citrus would be really tasty.

I am pretty sure that we will be using this new tool way more than any one of the cookie cutters that I have in my bin.  Ice cream sandwich, anyone?

Here’s a link to the pizzelle maker that I bought.  I highly recommend it.

Leave a comment here to enter to win a box of Christmas treats.  Pizzelles will definitely be in the box!  Tell me what you collect!

Triple Ginger Pizzelles

makes about 24

1  1/4 cup (6.25 ounces) all purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

3 large eggs, preferably at room temperature

1/2 cup (3.5 ounces sugar)

3 Tablespoons (1.5 ounces) unsalted butter, melted and cooled a little

4 Tablespoons (2 ounces) canola oil

1/2 teaspoon ginger extract

2 tablespoons (1 ounce) finely chopped crystallized ginger

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and ginger in a small bowl.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the oil and melted butter and whisk together until smooth.  Whisk in the extract.

Switch to a rubber spatula and stir in the dry ingredients into the egg mixture.  Fold in the crystallized ginger.

Follow your pizzelle maker’s instructions to make your pizzelles.  For the Chef’s Choice Pizzelle Pro maker, I used a scant tablespoon of batter per pizzelle and timed them for 30 seconds exactly.

 

Posted on December 12, 2016, in Baking, Holiday, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I have never had the desire to purchase a pizzelle iron, but I sure don’t mind eating the cookies that others make! The ginger ones sound yummy!

    Silly question… what do I collect? Yarn, of course! And fiber!

  2. Looks like fun! I imagine they taste so much better homemade!

  3. Oooh, triple ginger… why am i just now discovering that ginger extract exists? This is life changing! What do i collect? Hmmm…. i really try NOT to collect things, but i have a lot of cookie cutters as well. At one point i had to put a moratorium on cupcake wrappers, as i had way too many…

  4. I love my pizzelle maker! I bought one this summer and have enjoyed trying different recipes. I will definitely give ginger a go soon. I also made this recipe for homemade choco tacos, which was messy, but delicious: http://ashleemarie.com/homemade-choco-taco/

  5. What a great idea! Those cones look scrumptious and festive! How much ice cream can they hold? Can you make it so ice cream doesn’t drip out the pointy end? Lol! I collect fun and/or encouraging sayings mugs (but my cabinets can’t hold anymore, so I had to donate some or rotate them “in and out”) and I used to collect hats, mostly summer ones (and yes, I would wear them!) I also love collecting cards for all occasions. I could spend hours browsing for cards.

  6. Oh wow they look amazing! can you taste the ginger at all? how much is a pizzelle iron? look amazing now I am hungry!

  7. I did not know about ginger extract either! Your Pizzelle maker sounds so much fun! I will look forward to trying the ice cream cone variation 🙂 Hmmm, what do I collect? Bags! and Yarn! of course!

  8. I would love to try the ginger or candied citrus pizzelle (not a fan of anise ones). Being a fellow baker, I collect items mostly associated with cake decorating. I’ve heard a MD visit is possibly in your future, so it would be very convenient to give any “treats” to my sister for delivery to me….just sayin. 😉

  9. I will LOVE trying this recipe! My favorite has been Anise flavor (up to now). My son gave me my iron about a dozen years ago, because he knew how much I loved Pizzelles. It is quite a bit smaller than the one you bought and makes three small pizzelles. (I am not sure they would make very good ice cream cones, they are so small.)

    I love collecting yarn, project bags and new patterns!

  10. I think “yum”! Those look fabulous!

  11. I’ve seen pizzelles made before and thought it would be fun to try. Your post has reinvigorated that thought! Thanks for sharing!

    I collect recipes and am adding yours to my collection. It sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try it! Very clever idea using the pizzelles for ice cream cones, too! Hey, I bet they would form to a small Pyrex bowl for an “a la mode” dessert. What do you think?

    Diane

  12. I’ve seen these cookies before but never had any. Glad the machine was fun and easy to use

  13. yummy! i love the ice cream cone!
    i appear to be collecting yarn and three bags full bags 😃

  14. Yarn, wool, sheep (figures, not literals), books, But my real weakness is TEA TOWELS!

  15. I don’t really collect anything in particular even though I should come by it naturally. My mom collects M&Ms and my Grandparents collect coffee cups!

  16. thecrazysheeplady

    I was gifted a big bag of really neat sheep cookie cutters but I could never eat a “sheep” so there they sit. Maybe I need to get over that ;-).

  17. oh boy! Yarn and books mostly. I have an old breyer and barbie collection that I’m thinking about selling.

  18. I love pizzelles! If there’s one thing I collect, it’s definitely cookbooks, though I only use the baking ones for recipes 🙂

Tell me what you think!

