Day 8: Cheese Crackers

In this season of sweetness, it’s sometimes nice to have something that is not sweet.  Cheese crackers are not something I would normally think of to make because crackers are so easy to buy and they don’t last long in my house with all the snacking that goes on, so it’s not something I generally think of as a good way to use up my time.

However, the few times when I have had freshly made crackers, they have been really tasty and nothing like the dry, overly seasoned things you buy in boxes.

So, I thought I would make some and they are not hard to make.  Everything gets mixed up in the food processor, which does all the blending.

The next step is shaping, which I did in two ways.  I rolloed out half the dough into a 1/4 inch thick sheet and cut out as many little holly leaf shapes as I could.

It turns out that 1/4 inch thick crackers are too thick.  The first pan was good, but they did not retain their crispness.  One eighth of an inch is a better thickness for crackers.

They bake for quite awhile, about 20 minutes for these little ones to get them nice and dry and crispy.

The other half of the dough got shaped into a log for slicing.  I haven’t made those yet, but probably will soon, because these disappear fast!  They are very easy to eat, quite tasty, and are a welcome break from sweet things.  They will be good for serving to guests as they are hanging around and waiting for the big meal.

I noticed that cinnamon buns are quite a popular Christmas breakfast treat!  In our house, we can’t remember what we ate for Christmas breakfast before I started making Pandoro.  Everything else is eclipsed by the Pandoro as if those breakfasts did not exist.

Don’t forget to leave a comment for another entry into my Christmas treat box giveaway.  I’ve started to pack the box now, but there are still a few things yet that need to be made.  My house is beginning to look like a bakery and my freezer is almost full!  How are you doing on your preparations?

Cheddar Cayenne Crackers

adapted from Williams-Sonoma

makes a lot of tiny crackers or 4-6 dozen medium sized crackers

1 1/2 cups (7.5 ounces) all purpose flour

1/2 cup (2.5 ounces) whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon cayenne powder

1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika powder

8 Tablespoons (4 ounces) softened butter

2 heaping cups (8 ounces) shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup heavy cream

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 or 3 cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a food processor bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients and pulse a few times to combine.

Add the butter and pulse a few times until the butter is in small bits.

Add the cheese and pulse until the mixture looks pebbly.  Add the cream while the machine is running and then pulse until a ball begins to be formed on the blade or the dough starts to clump together.  If you squeeze a handful of dough together, it should stay in a ball.

Transfer the dough to a a sheet of parchment paper or clean pastry board.  Knead a few times to bring it all together into one mass.  Divide the dough in half.

If you would like shaped crackers, flatten the dough into a disk and roll out between two sheets of parchment to a 1/8 inch thickness.  Use 1 inch to 2 inch cookie cutters to cut out shapes.  If the dough is too soft and sticky, place the sheet of dough into the freezer for a few minutes to firm up.

If you want slice and bake crackers, shape your dough into a log about 1 1/2 inches in diameter.  Wrap in parchment of plastic and refrigerate for at least two hours before slicing.  When you are ready to bake, slice the log into 1/8 inch thick slices.

Transfer the shapes to your prepared cookie sheets so that they don’t touch.  A half inch of space around each cracker is sufficient.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, depending on the size of your crackers.  Larger cookies will take longer,  They should be golden brown.  Let cool completely on a rack.  Store in an airtight container and eat within a week.

Posted on December 14, 2016, in Baking, Holiday, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Crackers sound good to me! I love snacking 🙂 I saw packages of Pizzelles at TJ Maxx yesterday and thought of you! I’m still into the ginger spice cookie baking. Big day planned for tomorrow! Bake on!

  2. Yum, those look delicious! I still have a LOT of baking to do, but am refusing to get stressed out about it. 😉 I have MANY cookie recipes pulled out that I want to make, but also feel somewhat realistic in knowing it won’t all happen.

  3. Would like to try these! Celebrating Christmas with friends & family this weekend. Everything is wrapped & baked ready to go!

  4. I love the crackers cut into holly leaves!
    I am not as far along with my Christmas preparations as I would like. It just doesn’t seem as urgent when there are no kids involved… it’s kind of sad, in a way.

  5. I have a weakness for crackers, and these look especially delicious!

    I won’t start baking until next week. (If I started this early, I would just have to do it all over again before Christmas!)

  6. Our house is ready! Well as ready as I can be for a toddler Christmas anyway!!

  7. Yummy! I love a good cheese cracker – I will definitely give these a try. I am nowhere near ready! Hopefully I can turn things around this weekend.

  8. But those Lucia buns are still turning up on your cooling rack! Their on my list for Monday’s baking. I haven’t made crackers in a long while but now I have a hankering to make them again, too.

  9. thecrazysheeplady

    I am thoroughly enjoying all your holiday treats!

  10. the holly shape is so cute!
    we’re way behind – no lights on the tree yet…. i do have to make my friend’s present of chocolate chip cookies this weekend

  11. Definitely going to try these! I’m not doing so well with my preparations. I just about lost it when I figured out how many days are left until Xmas eve. Panic is starting,,,

  12. oh! Looking forward to trying things. The mini tree is up here and all the presents are wrapped. We are well on our way.

  13. Yum!! Those look divine! I did make some homemade cheese coins one year, I think when I was in 8th grade. They turned out pretty well, but yours looks so festive!

Tell me what you think!

