Day 10: Truffles

Today’s treat is not baked, but very tasty and easy to make.  It amazes me sometimes how much we are willing to pay for chocolate truffles when it’s not terribly hard to make them at home.

The thing that makes these so easy is that they are rolled in a coating and not dipped in tempered chocolate.  Tempering chocolate is a tricky business that involves quite a bit of precise temperature regulating.  If you eliminate that step, though, you get a treat that even kids can make.

In fact, that’s just what my kids did yesterday and today.  They each chose a flavor for their truffles.  One chose peppermint and the other mexican chocolate.

I was busy shuttling back and forth between the two of them so there are no pictures of the chocolate mixing process.  The recipe I used can be found in Dorie Greenspan’s book, Baking Chez Moi.  However, there’s lots of similar recipes out there if you want to try them.

Rolling the ganache into balls was messy, but it doesn’t really matter if they are done evenly because it all looks good in the end after they are rolled in their coatings.  The peppermint ones got rolled in ground up white chocolate, while the Mexican ones got a cocoa powder/cinnamon/chili powder coating.

Because these are not coated with tempered chocolate, they have to be stored in the fridge.  They taste better if you leave them out for a while to warm up, though.  The boys are planning to give some of their truffles away as gifts to their friends.  That’s only if we don’t eat them all first!

I’ll be sure to include a few in the Christmas Treat box that I am giving away in just a few days.   Be sure to leave a comment to be included in the drawing.  (If you need the rules, here they are.  Tell me about your favorite chocolate.  My favorite chocolates to eat are from Chuao.  They have a passionfruit truffle that is really yummy!

 

Posted on December 16, 2016, in Family Fun, Holiday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. The boys are after my heart today – chocolate truffles! Yummy! I adore good old fashioned milk chocolate from a local company – Sarris. Now I am off to scrounge up some chocolate!

  2. Mmmm, fave chocolate…. well it has to be DARK chocolate. And those truffles your sons made sound scrumptious. Yum.

  3. I know this is hard to believe, but I hardly ever touched chocolate as a child. Infact. It wasn’t until I lived in Germany that I really started to enjoy chocolate. Lindt & Ritter Sport are my favorite.

  4. Your boys must love this time of year! How fun for them getting to make their own tasty gifts for friends!

    I love milk chocolate these days, and pretty much anything from our local candy company, Spokandy.

  5. I’m with Sandy…Ritter Sports are a favorite of mine, too.

    Truffle-wise, they are so much fun to make. I’ve used a Maida Heatter recipe from Gourmet magazine from the dark (chocolate) ages for many years. Yours look fabulous and I bet the boys did a great job with the flavors and rolling of the ganache. My sons had their truffle licenses when they were very young, too.

  6. I like that your boys each got to chose a flavor. What fun!
    I like Lindor chocolate truffles. I’ve never had homemade

  7. My favorite chocolate is definitely hot fudge!

  8. thecrazysheeplady

    I’ve always liked the powdery chocolate, but didn’t know what it was called. Hate to say it, but I love Hershey’s chocolate and don’t tend to like the fancy chocolates a friend in Switzerland sends me :-o.

  9. Love the solids our local chocolate shop makes. They were e favors for our wedding!

  10. yummy! i love that your boys enjoy this too.
    hmmmm favorite chocolate?? lake champlain chocolate is yummy; i’m enjoying some a friend brought back from Germany. or a chocolatier from GA that comes up every year for a festival/show – http://www.modernchocolatier.com/about-us

  11. Peppermint truffles sound delicious. It’s hard to pick a favorite chocolate though – I’m partial to dark chocolate in many forms. 🙂

  12. I love milk chocolate. And caramels covered in milk chocolate. Sees has always been my favorite, being a West coast girl, but it’s hard to find caramels from them! These truffles look good, and easy. With my new puppy, I think all extra xmas activities have suddenly removed themselves from my schedule, though, so I’ll have to wait to make them, or anything else, for a few months, I’m afraid!

  13. Some of the best chocolate I’ve ever eaten was from Jacques Torres in NYC. Delicious!!

Tell me what you think!

