Day 11: Gingerbread Bundt Cake with Lemon Icing

This is one of my favorite cakes to make and not just during this time of year.  We eat gingerbread all year round because it’s good and shouldn’t just be limited to just one month out of the year.

This one is dark and spicy with bursts of candied ginger throughout.

But, the thing that makes this gingerbread extra special is the lemon glaze.  The zinginess of the lemon goes so well with the spicy mellowness of the cake.  You want to be sure that your icing is fairly thick or else most of it will just fall off.  This happened to me the first time and I had to redo it, which is why the cake pictured looks like it has two icings.

The cake tastes better if it is made a day ahead of time.  I made this cake for an event tonight, so I don’t have any pictures of it cut right now, but if there are any leftovers I will add a photo or two tomorrow.

That’s all for now.  Sorry to be so short today, but it’s been a busy few days and I need a little lie down before going out tonight.

Be sure to leave me a comment for another entry into the Christmas treat box giveaway.  I think it is mostly packed up now and just waiting for the winner’s address.  I can’t believe tomorrow is the last day!  I would love to hear about  your favorite Christmas tradition.

Gingerbread Bundt Cake with Lemon Icing

adapted from the Standard Baking Co., Portland ME

2 3/4 cups (13.25 ounces) all purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 Tablespoon plus 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (4 ounces) or 1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature

1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons (4.5 ounces) sugar

2 large eggs

3/4 cup mild molasses

1 1/3 cups cold water

1/4 cup (2 ounces) finely chopped crystallized ginger

Lemon Glaze

1 3/4 cup (5 ounces) powdered sugar

2  Tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Butter and flour a bundt pan or spray with Baker’s Joy.  Set aside.

Whisk together the flour and spices.

Using an electric mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until combined.  Add the large eggs and beat to blend.  Beat in the light molasses.  It will look grainy.

Add half of the dry ingredients and beat until blended.  Beat in half of the water. Then add the rest of the dry ingredients and beat until blended.  Add the remaining water and mix until mostly incorporated.

Stop the mixer, give the bowl a good scraping down.  Then, add the chopped crystallized ginger and beat the mixture again on medium speed for at least a minute.

Transfer the batter to your bundt pan and bake for 30-40 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.  Let cool in pan for 5 minutes, then turn out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.

For the glaze:

Whisk together the powdered sugar and lemon juice to get a thick icing that drops in mounds (you don’t want it too runny or it will just run right off–I did this the first time).

With the cake still on a rack, pour the icing evenly over the top of the cake, letting it run down the sides.

 

 

Posted on December 17, 2016, in Baking, Holiday, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. looks good! sure wish i had more space for baking

  2. Gingerbread can be eaten all year round indeed! I can always justify it for medicinal purposes. And now I have another wonderful cake to back in my nice Bundt pans. Thanks!

  3. I have been wondering what to serve my knitting group the first week of January. Thanks to your delicious recipe and recommendation, I no longer have to wonder. I love gingerbread and this recipe sounds like the perfect baked offering!

    One tradition in our family has been to decorate for Christmas the weekend of Thanksgiving to start the Advent Season on time. Over the years, I have scaled back the decorations, but kept w/the Friday or Saturday after Thanksgiving to get the house ready for Christmas.

  4. Oh, this sounds so delicious! I will be saving this recipe for sure…

  5. Have fun at your outing tonight! I’m sure everyone will love your cake

  6. Thanks for sharing the recipe:)

  7. I come from a long line of Swedes. We always enjoy shinglebread and lefsa at the holidays!

  8. My favorite tradition is that we always stay home all day on Christmas day! Even with adult children, we do stocking in our pjs, have ‘holiday breakfast,’ then open presents…in between some will shower and dress, others will be in pjs until after presents. Then, I start cooking! I love our close-knit celebration, which I started insisting on when the kids were little and I didn’t want them to be dragged from house to house and not get to enjoy their day and gifts. I always said anyone was welcome to come to our house but we were not leaving home. It’s worked out beautufully over many years.

  9. I forgot to say: I love gingerbread cake! I can’t wait to try this one!

  10. Yum! Gingerbread is my favorite treat, so I will definitely be making this. Favorite tradition? I love driving around on Christmas Eve to look at all the lights!

  11. We change into our pjs before opening presents on Christmas Eve.

  12. My favorite Christmas tradition is to get together with my sister & bake :).

  13. Oh, yum! That looks delicious! Gingerbread plus lemon? That is over the top! You have the best ideas!

  14. thecrazysheeplady

    My favorite tradition is the late night cookie party in the barn :-). And I have made gingerbread with fresh ginger, but not candied. I think I’ll try that next time!

  15. Last year for thanksgiving, I made a lemon-ginger spice cake with candied ginger in the cake and a whipped cream topping with creme fraiche and more lemon and candies ginger. So good!!

Tell me what you think!

