Knit with Love

A few months ago when I was working on the Through the Loops Mystery Sock, I became quite enamored with the mosaic knitting method.

If you’re not familiar with this method, it’s pretty fun.  You only knit with one color every row, passing stitches from a second color by so that you get this cool connected effect like you see above in the two color section.  I really wanted to revisit this method again and found another pattern to do it with.  Pucker by General Hogbuffer looked super cool and just what I wanted!  It took me a few months to get to them, but was happy to finally cast on a few weeks ago.

All was sort of well for the first few inches.  And then the troubles started.  Firstly, the yarn I was using was beginning to annoy me.  It was splitty and I was having to fix a lot of stitches, which was slowing me down and preventing me from getting a good rhythm.  Then, the colors in the multi colored yarn started changing in such a way that I was having a hard time distinguishing between the two.  I thought I could overlook these things once I got to the heel, though.  Surely, if I just persevered, things would fall into place and it would all be ok.  Somehow, I would become ok with the splittiness and the colors would pass by and look better.  (I can see all you veteran knitters shaking your heads here:)

I think we all know where this was heading.  Oh, I did get to the heel.  In fact, I even knit the heel.

Twice.

The first time, I got all the way through the gusset pickups when I noticed that I had not got the last 6 rows of the color patterning right on the leg.  I would have let it pass if it were not for the fact that those wrong stitches would be front and center of the design and I could not continue and make it look like it was supposed to.

It took me a whole evening to rip it out, pick up all the stitches and knit the color pattern correctly.  Then, last night, I knit the heel again.  Only, when I got to the part where I needed to turn the heel (my favorite part), I discovered that I had knit the wrong number of heel stitches.  Again, I could not let it go because then the pattern would not be nicely continuous.  Sigh.

I ripped it out again and cried uncle.  Honestly, I love the pattern, but I was really hating the yarn.  I could not bear the thought of picking up those stitches and knitting the heel again.  And you know what?  I am always telling people that life is too short to knit with yarn or patterns that we don’t love.  I want to knit with love, not anger or frustration.

I pulled out the yarn that I bought last week at the MD sheep and wool festival that I bought for Helical socks and decided they would also be perfect for this pattern.  So far, I only have a couple of rows, but I am loving the yarn combination so much more already.  We’ll see how it goes.

The lesson here?  Knit what you love.

Posted on May 16, 2017, in Inspiration, Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Rebecca Painter

    You’re a gifted knitter!!! I still treasure the sweater, hat, and booties you made for Andrew. I love seeing your projects as it inspires me to work through my challenges!! If that sweater pattern is handy and you wouldn’t mind sharing…I’d love to give it a try! Keep posting your beautiful work!

Tell me what you think!

