A Little Busy

Well, the last few weeks here have been quite a whirlwind!  We had some houseguests, which meant we had get ready for houseguests.  It’s great to have houseguests because we finally get around to cleaning the whole house all at once.  There’s a brief moment when one can enjoy an entirely clean house (well, except for that closet where you shove everything to make the rest of the house look nice:)  Then, there’s the super fun of having people in your house.  I got the chance to try making liege waffles.  Those were fun and totally tasty and gone so fast I didn’t have a chance to take a photo.  But, I did have a chance to take a picture of the funnel cakes we made.

We love having guests because we can make stuff we might not make for ourselves.  I mean, when else can one make 6 funnel cakes and not have any guilt?

We also get to play tourist in our local area, which, to be honest, is not hard since we haven’t lived here long.  This is my favorite picture from the whole week.

These pouffy flowers at the Boston Public Garden had us scratching our heads.  Such interesting plants!

We also watched the ducks and swans.

And tried our first cannolis from Mike’s Pastry in the North End.  Really tasty, by the way.  Totally worth the wait, which we did not have, but if we had to wait, it would have been worth it.

One highlight was a little organ music at the Old North Church.  It wasn’t a concert.  He was clearly practicing for a future event, but it was fun to listen to him practice in that space.

On our way to and fro, I even got a little bit of knitting time on these new socks.

They are the Head Over Heels Foothold socks, by my friend Helen.  Yarn is from IndigoDragonfly.

I also had some time to order some new yarn to make a strokkur and a cabled sweater.  I think I’ll wait a little while to get started on those, though.  It’s been hot here and I don’t fancy a thick woolen sweater at the moment.  Instead, I’ve cast on a laceweight sweater: Ivyle.

The chances that this will get finished before the summer is over are very slim, but I will try.  I’ve also got a couple of shawls on the needles that I’d like to finish up.  More on those next time.  Summer is looking busy!

 

Posted on June 26, 2017, in Family Fun, Inspiration, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Cherie Warner

    I always love your posts, Carie; thanks for sharing! If you Google “allium” you’ll see those poufy flowers! They are a spring flowering bulb that you can grow in your own yard 🙂

  2. I agree, it is fun playing tourist in your own backyard! That happens to me too; it’s about the only time I go to Acadia!

Tell me what you think!

