Pizza for Dinner

Today, I am running short on time, but I did manage to make the TwD recipe for dinner tonight, Pizza with Onion Confit.

IMG_5809

The dough was easy to make. I made the sponge at 1 pm and added the discard from my stiff sourdough starter. Then, I got the onion confit cooking.

IMG_5811

After an hour and a half, it was nicely bubbly.

IMG_5812

At 3pm, I mixed the final dough. Around 4pm, I turned on the oven with my baking stone inside and started getting the remainder of the topping ingredients together.

IMG_5814

The dough was ready to be shaped at 4:30. I made just half of the recipe of onion because I didn’t want to overwhelm the boys with it. Then, I added salami, artichokes, roasted red peppers, olives, and crumbled feta.

IMG_5815

15 minutes after I slid the first one in the oven, we were ready to eat. It was delicious. I think my topping mix leaned heavily to the salty side of things and, as long as I am being really honest, I found the crust to be a tad tough. However, it was really nicely crunchy and stiff on the bottom. I liked the confit. It was a nice alternative to tomato sauce, which has been banned from my diet. Overall, I am not sure I could say this was the best pizza I have ever had or made, but it was a good dinner, so you’ll hear no complaints from me. You can find the recipe here. The recipe made two very nicely sized pizzas, so I will be having it again for lunch tomorrow. Cold, because I will be out of the house. I wonder how it will taste then?

Posted on January 8, 2013, in Baking, Sourdough, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Great photos…I’ve not made many pizzas in my life…so, I still don’t have “THE ONE” in my recipe file yet. Thanks for sharing your honest comment on the dough. I wonder if using ’00’ flour makes a difference. Paul (the TWD host) used it.

  2. What a coincidence! I made pizza last night as well. I did it as an experiment with my food processor. Mine was OK…not the best crust ever so I think I’ll try your recipe!

  3. My pizza dough was a little stiff I thought when I used the first half of the dough the same day. But the second half spent a night in the fridge and when I used it the next day it seemed way better. Perhaps it needed to rest.
    I agree, it was a nice alternative to the tomato sauced pizzas. Seems more grown up maybe.
    Great job.

  4. Very nice-looking pizza! I really liked this dough, and it’s really nice to see how it worked for everybody, and to see all the toppings that have been used. This came out such a pretty pizza! Nice job!

  5. Your pizza is beautiful. I’ve also made better, but it was fun to try something new. I like all your toppings ideas and they photographed well….such pretty colors.

  6. I actually had good luck with this crust & felt very pleased with it. The confit seemed a tad too sweet & made a huge volume of onions. Your pizza looks scrumptious!

  7. You added such a wonderful array of toppings to your Pizza – it looks and sounds just terrific! I love the combination of salami, artichokes, olives and feta. it must have tasted wonderful together with the onion confit!

  8. Your pizza looks delicious. I like how you had less of the onion and more toppings…maybe we would have liked ours better with less of the onion confit. 🙂

  9. We also thought that it made for a nice change from the regular pizza toppings and loved it. Your pizza looks fabulous.

  10. I like your topping choices. The pizza looks delicious.

  11. What a great selection of toppings. With the addition of salami it sounds like it made a great dinner.

  12. I really liked this pizza dough. Glad I made extra. Pizza looks really good.

  13. Your pizza looks great and, your knitting is fabulous. My sister is a knitter and I’m lucky that she gives me beautiful hats. Great blog.

  14. Great looking pizza. We enjoyed this recipe.

  15. I like the salami and artichoke toppings – yum! I made it in one night after work – not advisable, as my pizza was not ready until around 9.30 at night. I also reheated it the next day, andit was good.

  16. Liked the idea of salami, to give it a little more ‘substance’. We also like artichokes – great idea for a topping combination.

  17. Sorry for my being so late!
    I love the filling you’ve added to your pizza, and I am so sorry that (like me), it was not one of your favourite dough.

Tell me what you think!